Surgery Day Part One

24 Mar

Hi everyone! It’s been a while!

A few weeks ago, I had my exploratory laparoscopy (going in through my belly button with a scope to explore what is going on inside my tummy, if there was anything found then they would make one or 2 more incisions in my lower abdomen to go in and burn/remove what they could), hysteroscopy (looking into my uterus), and chromotubation (basically like my HSG only I was knocked out this time, thankfully).

44546529049b5cce79f6cf13a17ebe33

{source}

The surgery was planned for 11:00 in the morning; I had to be there at 10 to get all checked in and prepped for surgery. I was really hoping at this point that the pregnancy test they took would be positive so they would scratch all of it! No such luck!

My doctor had another surgery before mine and told me to plan for a delay but she was hoping everything would run on time. I got all checked in, prepped, and the nurse started my IV, when another nurse popped in and said my doctor was indeed running behind but would be there shortly. My mom and David were able to come back and sit with me while I waited.

I’ve never had a surgery or even been in the hospital for anything so I didn’t know what to expect but one thing that I wish I had at home was their blanket warmer. I have no idea how they do it but they warm a blanket up to place over top of you and they feel like they were just taken out of the dryer but are all folded so nice there’s no way it’s just a dryer heating them! I was so surprised when the nurse brought me a blanket and laid it over my lap; she must have sensed my excitement and said it was part of their ‘spa treatment package.’ I guess when they put you in a cold room with a lightweight half-robe on, it is a great idea!

Soon after my doctor showed up and asked if we had any questions (she is the sweetest thing ever!) and told me we would be going into surgery soon. Sure enough, they were taking me back to the surgery room and I think about a minute later I was out! I don’t remember much and didn’t even have a chance to look around the room when I got in there.

About an hour later, I was out of surgery and in recovery. Meanwhile, my doctor met with David and my mom to let them know how it went and to go over what she found in surgery while showing them the pictures of my insides (weird!).

I was in recovery for about 2 ½ hours! Which made everyone wonder what was going on, but honestly I must have just been really loopy because I do remember dosing off and on for quite a while and was in quite a bit of pain when I woke up so they were trying to get that under control before they allowed my family to come back to see me. Shortly after I woke up the very first time, still pretty out of it, my doctor was by my side and told me all went well but they found endometriosis…and a lot of it…

To be continued…

8 Responses to “Surgery Day Part One”

  1. Priscilla March 24, 2014 at 9:50 am #

    Praying this story ends with two pink lines VERY soon~xoxo

    • Mallory March 27, 2014 at 9:00 pm #

      Yay! I can’t wait for the day I can share that picture with YOU! :) xo

  2. Linda Vasquez March 24, 2014 at 11:11 am #

    Ditto what P said :) I still have faith in you girl! xoxo

    • Mallory March 27, 2014 at 9:00 pm #

      Thanks Linda!!! And thanks for always reading along and cheering me on :) xoxo

  3. natalie@thesweetslife March 24, 2014 at 9:35 pm #

    ditto to the two comments above! and i have faith it will end with a very happy ending!

    • Mallory March 27, 2014 at 9:00 pm #

      Thanks Natalie!!!! :) I sure hope so :)

  4. Laurel March 26, 2014 at 3:06 pm #

    Exciting way to end a post!
    I’m so glad I found your blog! You are so honest and it’s great to read and now I’m not alone in this infertility thing. I hope you get some wonderful news soon :)

    • Mallory March 27, 2014 at 8:59 pm #

      Thanks Laurel for reading!!! I get a kick out of your blog as there is so much honesty in your words but I also love how you find the humor in things!!! <3

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 98 other followers

