Walking Is Good, Too

12 Jun

For the past year I have exercised very intensely. I thought a workout wasn’t worth it unless I ran 6 miles, if I walked, it was ruined, if I had to make it short, it was ruined. I now realize that that wasn’t the way to go about exercise.

And even though I miss running tremendously and plan to run again someday, I have learned how to listen to my body. Running was hard on my body and with this much needed break, I have found other ways to exercise and stay active.

One thing I loved about running was being outdoors enjoying the weather, especially during the summer. My dog, Gizmo, also loves being outdoors – so now, we go on a daily walk. I use to always take him for walks but they’d be rushed before I went for my run or after. Now we spend more time together, take our time, enjoy the scenery, and stop to smell the flowers (or in Gizmo’s case, mark his territory…which seems to be every stop sign pole and fire hydrant.)

We usually walk 30-40 minutes around our neighborhood or over to my parents house. Sometimes we will go over to the trail I use to run at but depending on the day, being at the trail makes things harder for me not running since that was my place I fell in love with running and spent every morning last summer doing what I loved. And tick season is really bad this year in Iowa so we have been staying clear of anywhere Gizmo could get one because those things are nasty!

Walking is a great form of exercise! It’s easy on joints, relieves stress, is great for relaxation, and is way better than sitting watching The Vampire Diaries all night (…ok maybe not completely true…) but I know after sitting at a desk for 8 hours, sitting is the last thing I want to do.

Although I miss getting a good, sweaty run in and the high I feel afterwards, my knees have been feeling much better! My knee problems have been scary in the past year, waking up in the middle of the night with horrible pain that would bring me to tears, Epsom salt baths to ease the aches, and lots of R-I-C-E (rest, ice, compress, elevate). My knees hurt going down stairs, going up stairs, heels, kneeling, crossing my legs…I even had gotten some expensive running shoes – but my body was sending me a signal that I needed to ease up. I also notice an improvement with my feet/toes as my mileage had really done a number on them as well.

Along with walks, my husband and I started up 2 sand volleyball teams this year. It’s a blast! We aren’t good at all – but we laugh a lot, bicker some, and really enjoy ourselves. It’s also a great form of exercise and gets me outside enjoying summer.

Tonight is one of those nights – amazing weather, sand volleyball with some great friends, and a day I can sit back and remember to enjoy these special moments…

4 Responses to “Walking Is Good, Too”

  1. lwarb June 14, 2012 at 1:42 am #

    I’m with ya on being outdoors as one of the reasons I love running. I used to try to take my dog with me on runs but he would slow me down (because he has to stop and sniff everything!) and I would get SO annoyed. I love taking him for walks as exercise now, though. It’s nice to have some company. And my knees are thanking me, too. They always used to be so sore. Sand volleyball sounds like fun!

    • ifgravityhappens June 14, 2012 at 1:59 am #

      Yes!! I tried taking Gizmo on a few runs but one time he tripped me and i ate cement so I swore I’d never run with him again! Now he’s here to keep me walking 🙂

  2. Keely June 14, 2012 at 1:03 pm #

    Mallory, great blog! Glad you are enjoying the walks – my boys (poodles) Mack and Pete are liking the new attention they are getting as well!!

    • ifgravityhappens June 15, 2012 at 11:58 am #

      Thank you! 🙂 Yes, walks are so nice!! especially with our pups! Poodles – so cute! I love dogs so much!!

Leave a Reply

