Getting in the Game

27 Jun

For any real change to come in your life you have to have a strong motivator. This is oftentimes that ‘rock-bottom ah ha’ moment where you realize you aren’t where you want to be or who you want to be and that in order for you to get there you must do something to change that.

When I first started running and making healthier lifestyle changes, it was because of a moment in my life where I was unhappy with myself. I was asked to be in a wedding and was one of the curvier girls (compared to the stick thin girls also in the wedding) and was down on myself for having to order a few sizes larger than I thought I’d need. I was also worried about looking ‘hippy’ in the bridesmaid dress and after realizing my issues stemmed much deeper than being in this wedding…I made change happen.

This starts with a few things. Being motivated isn’t a single thing that someone says, “hey I’m going to dramatically change my life tomorrow…” although that can happen, in order to stick with it, it must be more. It must go deeper.

Something needs to spark the desire. For me this was a chain of events that lead up to one ‘ah ha’ moment where after lots of tears, I said to myself – I can’t do this anymore. I need to change. I need to find my happiness and be the best that I can be – healthy physically and emotionally.

Refocusing on goals. After my lowest point and having a spark in me wanting to change, I had to refocus my goals. My goal was to no longer sit back and let my life pass me by, it was to take charge, get healthy, and feel alive. Refocusing your goals will help you add fuel to that spark of desire and take it further. It will put meaning behind the change.

Envision. Envisioning is the next important thing to getting motivated (and staying motivated). Once I set my mind to something, I can make it happen. The mind is the most powerful thing that we have. If you really want something, and you imagine having it, there isn’t much that can stop you at that point.

Embrace change. Embracing change is another important factor to not only getting motivated but staying motivated. If you resist change, you will go nowhere and that spark will burn out. If you embrace change, you allow yourself to face challenges with power and strength. Like the saying, “If you do what you have always done, you will be where you’ve always been.”

You have to do it for yourself. When it comes to making personal growth, it always has to be for yourself. You have to want it, you have to do it, and you will receive the benefits that come from your hard work. Taking responsibility for your life and holding yourself accountable is where success is. If you have the desire, have goals, envision your goals, embrace the change, but if you do it all for someone else, you won’t succeed. You have to want it for yourself.

Realizing these general steps and finding ways to accomplish each one will set you up for nothing but success. Although much easier said than done, it can be done. You can take control and change your life.

*Stay tuned for more specific motivation tips towards running goals and healthy eating goals.

3 Responses to “Getting in the Game”

  1. stefy June 30, 2012 at 8:25 pm #

    Hey girl this is stefy from FT. Just wanted to say hi and I love your blog…have a wonderful weekend.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Scale - November 2, 2012

    […] made my mind up to change. I fell in love with running. When I ran I felt free, in control, strong, powerful, and the […]

Leave a Reply

