Positivity

20 Aug

One thing I’m really going to try and focus on is positive thinking. I tend to always try and prepare myself for the worse that could happen so that I can prevent heartbreak and continue to control the situation. I really think that this is hurting me more than helping me and I am determined to let this go.

Positive thinking is simply the way you think about things. If I think the glass is half full, I will look at life with that outlook and good things will happen. If I look at it as half empty, then I’m looking at life as less fulfilling which will have a negative effect on the rest of my life. The mind is a powerful thing and I want to learn to use it to its fullest potential instead of working against me.

If I try and self-talk myself into thinking positively, will it help? I’m not sure, but if there’s anything I can do to eliminate as much stress as possible and mentally relax, there’s nothing wasted about that!

But to really think positively I believe that you have to feel positive physically and emotionally. I’ve learned that balance in all areas of my life is essential for success and happiness. By just deciding to feel good, I have made the first step towards this balance between mind and body.

The past few months I haven’t felt positive. I have felt broken inside and out. I may be healing physically but my physical and emotional being is off balance. I really do think this is an ever changing thing that I have to continue to work on and there isn’t really one answer to achieve it. Positivity is fleeting and I have to evolve it daily so that when something negative happens I have enough positivity to counteract it and not let it get me down.

I’m not sure on what’s the best way to achieve this but a few things that I think might help are:

-Daily relaxation: whether it is walks, yoga, listening to music, or writing this blog – something to clear the air and start a new day. The hardest part about this for me was that daily relaxation use to be running in the morning. I started every day with a run and if I didn’t, it threw my whole feeling off. I have to readjust and find other, healthier for now, ways to relax.

-Adopt a different attitude: look at every situation for something it’s good for. Yes, my biggest negativity in my life right now is that I want something I can’t control, but maybe I look at it instead as something that I will cherish even more when it comes, something that we have had a little more time to save money for, something that has helped my husband and I be closer, something that has allowed me to meet some very dear friends I never would have met otherwise, something that has made me educated and more in tune with myself. Looking at a situation for the good rather than the bad, even the smallest positive factor, will help me look at all areas of my life more positively.

-Surround myself with positive people: I am going to be honest; it’s a lot easier for me to be ME with the people that know the bad going on in my life right now. I don’t have to fake happiness. I can just be real and they can see that yes, I have struggles, but I’m going on day by day, and that’s not anyone’s fault. But it has helped me overcome the feeling of being alone. I also have “unsubscribed” to some of my pregnant friends and some of my friends who have recently had a baby. Time goes by a lot faster when I am not constantly reminded of other’s happiness. I am sincerely happy for them but the sting is still there and right now, I need to focus on what’s going on in my life and all the good that I have in this moment.

Another thing that I have found helps me stay positive is continuing to live life. For a few months now David and I have talked about getting away, going on vacation somewhere and leave our problems and struggles behind us just for a moment. I am super excited because we have booked our weekend getaway finally! And Gizmo gets to come with us!

We are renting a log cabin for our anniversary weekend. We are going phoneless (except for emergencies) and it’s going to be so refreshing! I can’t wait!

What are ways that you stay positive?

What are things that you do to relieve stress and relax?

One Response to “Positivity”

  1. Priscilla August 20, 2012 at 3:24 pm #

    This is my FAVORITE post yet…it spoke directly to me and helped me realize once again that I need to refocus my outlook on life! Thank you from the bottom of my heart for continuing to write this blog 🙂 I hope you guys have a wonderful time at your anniversary weekend getaway…looks like it’ll be just what you need to find that peace and relaxation~xoxo

Leave a Reply

