Spinach Lasagna Rolls

22 Aug

This recipe is Christy’s over at The Girl Who Ate Everything, which came from Gina at Skinny Taste, but I changed it slightly to what we had on hand. It is healthy and delicious, and easy!

Something I’ve learned from my mom is that cooking is so much better when things aren’t measured and you cook with your senses instead. So when it comes to spices, I kind of guess or go from experience with how much to put in something.

Ingredients:

About 11 Lasagna noodles, cooked
1 (10oz) package frozen (thawed and drained) chopped spinach -for this specific time I used swiss chard from my CSA box so really any green would work
1 (15oz) container fat free ricotta cheese
½ cup grated Parmesan cheese
1 egg
Garlic Powder
Italian seasoning
salt and pepper
Chicken (cooked and diced) – for this recipe, I did easy and opened a can of chicken and drained it, if I have leftover chicken breasts I can dice up I will use that but for casseroles and stuff like this recipe, canned chicken does the job for me because of the time factor.
32 oz tomato sauce or spaghetti sauce – I’ve used both for this recipe and they are both equally delicious!
Top with desired amount of shredded mozzarella cheese

Instructions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Combine spinach, ricotta, Parmesan cheese, egg, garlic, Italian seasonings, chicken, and salt and pepper in a bowl. Coat the bottom of a 9×13 dish with some sauce.

Lay out the lasagna noodles and spread mixture on each noodle evenly. Roll and place into the baking dish. Ladle sauce over the noodles and top each one with mozzarella cheese.

Cover with aluminum foil and bake for 40 minutes or so until cheese is melted and sauce is bubbling.

Before I put in the oven

My nephew started preschool today! How crazy is that!? I can’t believe how fast time goes by! My sister sent me a picture of him with his book bag and the biggest smile on his face. I am a very proud aunt today!! I called him last night and was asking him if he was excited…and as the typical male that he is, I got plenty of “yep”s and “nope”s, but he did sound very excited to meet lots of new friends!

On another note, I am trying out Zumba tonight for the first time! Wish these uncoordinated hands and feet of mine good luck…..

One Response to “Spinach Lasagna Rolls”

  1. jupiterstar August 23, 2012 at 1:11 am #

    Those look tasty, I will have to try them. I love skinny taste! And I love improvising while cooking. When I first started cooking, if I didn’t have all the exact ingredients in the house, I had to run out to the store, but I’ve gotten better at working with what I have on hand (and not letting things go to waste).

Leave a Reply

