Labor Day Hike

4 Sep

Happy Birthday to my wonderful husband today! David is old the big 2-7! We will be celebrating tonight with our first tournament game of volleyball with a delicious homemade healthified French silk pie to follow.

Old photo alert: this is the one I made on Valentine’s Day…

I personally think birthdays should be a day off for the birthday boy AND the wife of the birthday boy, but since it’s not written as a national holiday quite yet, we will have to settle for celebrating after work.

I absolutely love weekends, and when you throw in a holiday weekend it’s even better! Friday night we had a wedding, Saturday we had a wedding, Sunday we visited 2 wineries and went for pizza and yesterday, we went for our first official hike!

My cousin’s wedding reception, I loved those lanterns!

We went to the Mines of Spain this weekend and checked out some of the trails. I ‘field tripped’ there when I was in grade school and I went earlier this summer with a friend for a short hike but I convinced David to go with me for a long hike on Monday.

We were feeling adventurous and headed out early Monday morning, well after we filled our bellies with some delicious blueberry pancakes.

…lots of miles have been put on these shoes!

Sunday we had planned to go for a hike but time didn’t allow us to go for a very long one so we basically just mapped out where we would be going on Sunday. We picked the trail that ran 1.5 miles to a historical landmark with the most amazing view and then 1.5 miles back to the nature center where we parked.

It took us 90 minutes, including a few water breaks, a phone call (I know, I know, we should have left the phone at home but it’s really hard for us both to disconnect…), and some time to take in the views.

Before we even got half way, we were both drenched in sweat and feeling the burn.

Sorry for the awful, shaky picture…I was multitasking and trying to stay ahead of David 🙂

We had quite a few good hill climbs and went over some iffy terrain including some rocks, tree roots, gravel, dried up mud, dewy grass, smashed leaves, and lots of fallen acorns. Throughout the trails there are historical landmarks including an old lead mine, an old chapel, a wine cellar, a few bridges, and the Julien Dubuque Monument.

Half way – we reached the Monument and the gorgeous view…too bad we totally usually drive there so it made our destination not as exciting – but still worth it!

The trail ran along this creek for some of the way

We saw lots of squirrels, heard a few woodpeckers, lots of birds, a chipmunk, and I got to know a bug that liked the smell of my hair spray, I also got up close and personal with whatever lived here…

Hiking is a great way to get some exercise and connect with nature. It was a fun thing that my Rambo husband and I got to do together.

It was a fun little adventure that we already mapped out a few other trails that we would like to try next time including one that is mostly uphill to a pretty awesome scenic overlook.

How did you spend your Labor Day weekend?

Leave a Reply

