At First Taste: Nectarines

11 Sep

There are a lot of foods out there that I haven’t tried so I thought that I would do a little series that I will call At First Taste.

Today’s pick: nectarines.

A friend of mine has an apple orchard in their family and they dropped off these yummy little nectarines to share with me.

I don’t know why I have never tried a nectarine until lately but boy are they good! I like peaches and these are very much like a peach, without the fuzzy exterior.

The fuzziness of a peach never really bothered me but it is very odd and I do know a lot of people who do not like the texture of the peach’s skin. The next best thing to a peach is a nectarine, and I must say I think that I’d rate it better than a peach.

Things with pits in them kind of scare me off. This summer I became acquainted with both bing cherries and peaches, and now nectarines, 3 fruits that I stayed clear of simply because of the pit…what was I thinking!

“Nectarines provide twice the vitamin A, slightly more vitamin C, and are a richer source of potassium than peaches.” {source-Wikipedia}

For more health benefits of nectarines check out:

http://www.livestrong.com/article/408098-what-are-the-health-benefits-of-nectarines/

9 Responses to “At First Taste: Nectarines”

  1. Laura @ LauraLikesDesign September 11, 2012 at 1:14 pm #

    Mmm, I haven’t had one of these in the longest time! They’re so good though!

    • Mallory September 11, 2012 at 7:27 pm #

      Ooo you should you should 🙂 so good for sure!!!

  2. Karla September 11, 2012 at 5:25 pm #

    I just found your blog and read all your posts. Wow! Thank you for sharing your journey. I have never been diagnosed with ha, but I am going to my gyn tomorrow because my hubby and I are still trying to concieve. We tried clomid and that failed and we want to have a baby so badly, it hurts me so much. I started running in January and while I don’t run a lot, I wonder if it’s effecting me. I have never missed a period, until this month, but although I had regular periods blood tests revealed that I was not ovulating. I am sorry to ramble on, I’m just so scared and sad about it. I would love to know more details of your story. I would also like to know.your thought and feelings regarding the lifestyle changes you have made and if you plan to stick with them after you have a baby. Do you worry about losing the weight? Again, I love your blog and look forward to future posts!

    • Mallory September 11, 2012 at 7:29 pm #

      Karla, I was so touched that you found my blog (how did you find it by the way? :)) THe whole point for this blog is to hopefully help someone (even just one person) overcome their battle with HA. I would love to chat with you more, you can email me at ifgravityhappens@gmail.com and we can talk more 🙂

  3. simone @ realgoodfood September 12, 2012 at 3:18 am #

    I love nectarines.I was surprised you never tried it. It is so common here that I first thought I read wrong *lol* Happy you like nectarines. I love them in yogurt with a little bit of honey..sooo goood!!

    • Mallory September 12, 2012 at 5:53 am #

      my husband loves nectarines too! 🙂 I think I am just so in love with other kinds of fruit, I don’t stray from my comfort zone much… 🙂

  4. claireknudsen September 12, 2012 at 8:36 am #

    I LOVe nectarines!! They are the ultimate summer fruit. I used to eat them all the time when I was younger, but I always forget to buy them at the store!

    • Mallory September 12, 2012 at 8:43 am #

      Yes! I agree! Even though i probably will do the same 😉 i never forget to buy my bananas though!

  5. jupiterstar September 14, 2012 at 6:46 pm #

    I can only eat peaches if I peel them (the fuzz grosses me out!). But nectarines are better, even sweeter than peaches!

Leave a Reply

