October: My Favorite Month

1 Oct

This past weekend we went to a place in Wisconsin called Gays Mills. They have a festival called Apple Fest where a bunch of local orchards have all of their apples and apple flavored eats for everyone to taste and buy. There are also a lot of pumpkins, crafts, and even some carnival rides.

We left from the place where my parents camp

This is my first year that I can remember going to Gays Mills on actual Apple Festival weekend and boy it was crazy to say the least! People from all over the place just for some delicious apple cidar donuts or the most wonderful apples in the world, Honeycrisp!

We got to an orchard called Sunrise Orchards.

And went straight for the Honeycrisp sign!

I stopped along the way and picked up some carmel apples and some apple butter too!

They are known for their apple cidar donuts and although I’m not a real big donut fan, these things are amazing!

As you can tell the ones with the sugar all around them are almost gone!

I also picked up some Cortland apples so that I can make some apple crisp hopefully this weekend. I love fall!!!

After we went to the orchard, we stopped at a place along the way that had pumpkins for sale…some of the cheapest ones we have seen yet this season! We stopped and got some giant ones for only $2 a piece. The lady said that they pick pumpkins 14 hours a day and they all sell within the 2 day span of Apple Fest.

Later, it was time for a drive around to look at the beautiful, colorful bluffs. Iowa is pretty hilly and all of the hills had bright fall colored trees. I think they were the brightest this year for some reason! I also tried to take lots of pictures of them but they weren’t photographing very well from my phone.

Our drive led us to a few places to stop for a drink or two.

It was a perfect fall day and was a nice end to September and a very welcomed hello to October.

2 Responses to “October: My Favorite Month”

  1. Priscilla October 3, 2012 at 12:13 pm #

    I LOVE Honeycrisp’s!!! MMMMMM ๐Ÿ˜€

    • Mallory October 8, 2012 at 8:45 am #

      Mine too!! They r so yummy! Esp caramel drenched ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

