Comfort Food

13 Nov

With the weather getting colder all of a sudden…it’s like 30 degrees for highs the past few days! Yikes! I am getting more and more ready for the holidays, snow, fires, and all of the fun things to come during the winter time. That includes some recipes that I loved last winter that I can’t wait to bring back in the mix now!

1) Famous Dave’s Corn Bread Muffins Mock Recipe from MacaroniandCheesecake.com – these were SO good and more like a dessert than a ‘side’ but I’d love to make them healthier…

2) Healthified Mini Pizza Meat Loaves from LiveBetterAmerica.com – also very good and David loved them!

3) Lighter Cheesy Garlic Bread from Portuguesegirlcooks.com – this bread was a great replacement for our typical frozen texas toast garlic bread that we usually resort to. It was fun to make this bread on my own and it was a little better than what we usually throw in the oven as a side with spaghetti or stuffed shells. I substituted the buttermilk for 1 cup greek yogurt and a 1/2 cup milk. and for the garlic I used garlic powder and olive oil instead of canola.

4) Creamy Chicken Noodle Soup from Pillsbury.com – this is our favorite chicken noodle soup and it is SO easy! I’ve given this to many people to try out and everyone seems to love it. It’s probably not the healthiest but it’s still very good!!

5) Hungry Girl’s Minestrone Soup from hungry-girl.com – not sure if you’ve ever heard of Hungry Girl but I LOVE her recipes so much! She always has really easy recipes and they are usually pretty healthy or at least lower calorie. This soup was a huge hit last year and I actually forgot about it until I went through my recipe list for this post! Might be on the menu for next week!

6) White Chocolate Cinnamon Pretzels from YourCupofCake.com – I made a huge batch of this last Christmas to add to cookie trays. It was my favorite and I literally could not stay away from it! Probably worst than most of your holiday cookies out there but it was a delicious treat!!

Now I’m craving sweet treats for the holidays! I have some really easy, great holiday recipes like Saltine Cracker Toffee and Tiramisu Balls that I’d love to create a whole other post with. I will save those for later but for now…feel free to check any of these out and let me know what you think! If you have any ideas on making any of these even healthier, I’d love to get some feedback!

Time to snuggle with my pup and watch another episode of Revenge! Do any of you watch that show?

6 Responses to “Comfort Food”

  1. Linda Vasquez November 13, 2012 at 9:03 pm #

    Those pretzels sound really good Mal, I’m kinda in the mood for baking as well! Give Gizmo a hug for me, I miss him!

    • Mallory November 15, 2012 at 8:53 pm #

      Gizmo sends a hug back to ya! 🙂 He misses being spoiled by you and getting laughed at by begging non.stop! haha I miss u too! 😉

  2. Stephanie @ Macaroni and Cheesecake November 14, 2012 at 7:18 pm #

    Great round-up! Thanks for including my corn bread muffins! Those pretzels sound amazing!

    • Mallory November 15, 2012 at 8:52 pm #

      Thanks Stephanie for checking out my blog as well! 🙂 I love your recipes!!!

  3. Nico November 15, 2012 at 12:01 am #

    Pretzels sound amazeballs! will try some of the other recipies too, thanks for sharing! (I like the idea on the pretzels post of using coconut oil…)

    • Mallory November 15, 2012 at 8:52 pm #

      Ooo they are total amazeballs! 🙂 Oo good idea about the coconut oil!!!! Thanks Nico!

Leave a Reply

