Just a few of my favorite things

29 Nov

In honor of December fast approaching, I am getting prepared and excited for the next month! I did some Black Friday shopping as well as some Amazon shopping last week and am getting lots of things crossed off my list.

Can you believe it?! Only 25 more days until Christmas! Thanks for the idea Lindsey from A Running Tale!  (Though, yours is so much cuter!!) Next year I will think ahead and take my time with it but for now, this will do!

I also got our tree all set up and our house mostly decorated for Christmas although we don’t have a ton of decorations but I am ok with that for now!

My collection will grow and a lot of the stuff that I do have is stuff that my mom put out when I was growing up so it makes it extra special!

I looked all over for my Baby’s First Christmas ornament and realized the one I had was my sister’s! I will be returning that to her tree tonight. I think I may have forgotten some of my childhood ornaments at my parent’s house. But for now, here are some of my favorites on my tree from the past few years…

Every year my mom, sister, and I go out together and pick out our ornaments for the year. This was mine that my sister and I got last year. We have always been close growing up but there’s nothing like the friendship we have now. Daffy just cruises around the tree all day!

This was my ornament the year before. The year we got married. This picture was a candid shot and is one of my favorites from our wedding day!

…Can’t forget this one!

Side bar: my coworker and her little girl made these for Thanksgiving. Aren’t they adorable?! Reese’s Peanut butter cups and a malt ball frosted to an Oreo cookie with some candy corn. It was as good as it is cute!

Side bar number 2: My mom got me this bag full of corn that you can heat up in the microwave a few years ago. Mostly for aches and pains but lately I have been heating it up at night before I go to sleep and it warms me up right away. Right now, this is a can’t live without item in my house! I couldn’t get a good picture of it so I’ll just take you to some on Etsy! You can also get them with cherry pits, rice, and who knows what else inside of them. Mine is field corn though so it doesn’t pop like popcorn!

This past week I made this soup. It’s a copycat recipe for Olive Garden’s Zuppa soup. It was veryyy good and not too hard or time consuming. I really love my crock pot lately!

Ok my favorite things so far going into December…

Walks. My mom is going through an AMAZING transformation right now and we have been doing lots of walks together! I am so proud of her! The weather has been decent to continue walking for a little while longer, we just fight with the sun every day because it sets too early! On days like the above, I get a little stir crazy and really miss my runs but being able to get out and walk has helped ease the temptation!

Starbucks. Ok I try not to make Starbucks a habit because it’s outrageous for what I can make at home to satisfy any cravings but every Black Friday we go to Starbucks for a break from all of the shopping and most years I’ll get hot chocolate or a pumpkin spice latte but it never fails that that early in the morning, my stomach regrets it so this year I went for a hot Passion tea sweetened with a little honey (Thanks Priscilla!!).

Around my birthday, I found a phrase that says “Hope anchors the soul”. 2012 has been a year in my life where I’ve had so much more hope than I ever have before. Anchors symbolize stability through a storm, something to keep you in place when the waters get rough. If there’s any symbol out there for me right now, it’s an anchor. I found this charm a few weeks ago and have it on a necklace to remind me that I am forever hopeful and that will keep me strong.

Our fireplace that photographs horribly. Last week we went to have a fire and 2 dead birds dropped down…poor things. So right now our fireplace is out of order until we get it all cleaned out. But I can’t wait to have our first fire of the season!

So for now, this will do! This candle smells soooo good!!!!!!!!!!!!

Last but not least…my Christmas time nail polishes! The glitter stuff peels off in one big chunk – I couldn’t classify that as a bad or a good thing, I love when that happens but hate that I have to redo it then!

And for the grand finale…Christmas music! I have been jamming to the Lady Antebellum Holiday Pandora station for 2 weeks now!

4 Responses to “Just a few of my favorite things”

  1. Lindsey November 29, 2012 at 11:19 am #

    Love your countdown it is cute! That candle is one of my favorite scents 🙂

    • Mallory December 5, 2012 at 7:29 am #

      Thanks Lindsey! and thank you for the idea 😉 That candle is THE BEST!

  2. Priscilla November 29, 2012 at 11:24 am #

    GREAT post!!! I feel inspired to decorate this weekend and I LOVE the idea you got from Lindsey’s Blog 😀 I might have to steal that one too!! Your tree looks beautiful and I love how y’all make it a tradition to pick out your ornaments for the year…so cute 😉 I am definitely going to make that soup…looks soooooo good and I’m glad you enjoy the tea! Super pricey but a nice treat 😉 One last thing…thank you for posting that quote about the anchor, I love it!! I think I’m going to get myself one too…so perfect for what we are going through right now~xoxo

    • Mallory December 5, 2012 at 7:29 am #

      Thanks Priscilla! 🙂 I’m glad you now have yourself your very own anchor of hope! love you lots girlie!

Leave a Reply

