December Goals

5 Dec

Last month I set out a list of goals to keep me on track of things I wanted to do better in November. I want to do that again for December as well as check on my progress of last month’s. With the holidays in December, this month is guaranteed to fly by but I want to try and make December a good month to end 2012!

1. Blog at least 3 times a week. I would like to do a few more fitness type posts, a few new recipes, and of course my trials through my HA recovery. This happened on occasion but I wasn’t very consistent with it. I need to figure out the best time for me to plan and write posts so that I can have them ready to go for the week or the night before…this is on my list of goals for December for sure!

2. With Daylight Savings coming to an end, I want to start waking up in the mornings and getting in some yoga or light elliptical to feel more energized throughout the day. It’s tough to get up in the mornings but it use to be so easy…..totally should cross this off because it definitely did not happen in November and I don’t even know if I want it as a goal anymore going into December. My rest and sleep was a part that I wanted to work on and if sleeping in a little later in the mornings is what helps me feel more relaxed and less stressed, then the workout can wait until the afternoon. 

3. Go to bed earlier…or should I say, settle in earlier. I seem to get a second wind come 8:00-9:00 and then it’s hard for me to close my eyes and fall asleep when I do climb into bed. Maybe setting aside after 8:30 to read or watch a little bit of TV will help me fall asleep at a more normal time. This did happen. With it getting dark out earlier, I have been getting to bed by 9:30. I am feeling so much better! Cross this one off the list (although I hope to continue this habit out now…)

4. And with that, I also want to start listening to my Circle + Bloom CDs more regularly. They are almost hypnotic and I miss that deep relaxation that I feel after I listen to them. I have kind of put them on the side lines because my cycles have been so irregular but I think it’ll be good to start up again on a regular basis. This definitely did not happen, not even one day! I had to take a full week off of all things baby and destress by not thinking so much about things. The Circle + Bloom CD is all about conceiving a baby and getting your mind to connect with your body. I love the CDs but I figured this wasn’t the best month to start them back up. I do hope very soon that these will come in handy again! 🙂

5. Cook more new recipes. I have lost some of my passion for cooking over the summer and fall/winter is my favorite time to put in a little more creativity and time into our meals. I get off work at 4 so when I can no longer go for walks after work, I can spend more time preparing meals. I have done this! I have made SO much in my crock pot already this winter and so many new soups! I will continue this goal into December but I am changing the requirement of ‘meals’ to ‘desserts/treats/candy/goodies’. I want to make some of my favorite holiday treats healthier and make some that are definitely on Santa’s naughty list!

6. There are a couple more house renovations we’d like to do before the end of the year so getting that crossed off would be awesome! Nope, not at all. Which is ok and not going on my list for December because we are concentrating on gift spending and Vegas saving!

7. Start Christmas shopping! I have free-2 day shipping through Amazon for 30 days (ending November 24th) so I want to get some of it done while that is still good 🙂 Yes, I got a lot of my Christmas shopping done but not all of it…something tells me this will have to be completed by the end of December…….

8. Black Friday shopping. Enough said! Done!

9. Make something new and healthy for thanksgiving. Last year I took hummus to my husband’s side’s holiday and they were so sweet to try it but they weren’t a fan so maybe I can make a more traditional dish healthy. I got away easy with this goal, no one had me bring anything to any of my Thanksgivings! It was nice to relax and enjoy company but hopefully next year I can have a few recipes ready to go without any ifs, ands, or buts about it!

10. Because November is a month to show thanks, I want to focus on showing my family and friends that I am thankful for their support this past tough year! I hope that I am able to do this every day by telling my friends and family I appreciate them, I think this goal is a hard one that I will always struggle with throughout life – not feeling like they REALLY know how much I am thankful for all that they do.

So here we go for my December goals:

1. I see my Doctor this Friday and I am hoping to set out a plan for 2013 or at least gets some answers.

2. December is the month for gift giving and family time, I hope to do lots of both!

3. Build a snowman…this goal will depend a lot on Mother Nature. We haven’t had snow yet this year – minus the day I had to stand out in it for the election but it was too warm for any to stick to the ground.

4. Have a cookie day with my Mom and sister. Check off of the list on December 15! I love these days, we just make lots of goodies and treats and my nephew helps too…he’s totally going to be the best husband in the world some day because he knows how to cook and bake!

5. Blog more. I would LOVE for this to be a daily thing to keep up with…I just need to prioritize differently.

6. Make ONE crock pot recipe a week. This not only makes it an easy night for dinner but most of the time the recipes are healthier and it makes our house smell so good!

7. Enjoy every last moment of 2012 and say good ridden to this crazy year!

6 Responses to “December Goals”

  1. Tara December 5, 2012 at 9:54 am #

    Love your goals! I need to work on making a goal list as well. I would love to know some of your crockpot recipes! It is so easy to do, I just get in a rut and cook the same thing. Oh and I agree sleep trumps working out any day! 🙂

    • Mallory December 6, 2012 at 12:10 pm #

      Thanks Tara!!! I will definitely post some recipes! 🙂

  2. Priscilla December 5, 2012 at 12:52 pm #

    I should make some goals for myself too!! I think it’s a great way to start off the month 🙂 I love your goals for December!!! I agree with Tara, recipes please 😉

    • Mallory December 6, 2012 at 12:10 pm #

      You know me, goals goals goals! haha just our personalities right?!

  3. Simone @ realgoodfood December 5, 2012 at 2:11 pm #

    Love your goals and the recap of november. I have one similar goal as you. I want to blog more but I need to figure out how. And I love my crock pot too. Maybe you can share more of your recipes or your favorite sites where you find the recipes.

    • Mallory December 6, 2012 at 12:09 pm #

      Thanks Simone! If you figure out how, let me know! 🙂 I think if I set out a weekly list of what I wanted to blog about and prewrote some of them, it’d be a lot easier. Pictures are probably my hardest to think ahead on….I envy every blogger who takes pictures all day long 🙂 I will definitely share some of my favorite recipes 🙂

Leave a Reply

