That’s a whole lot’a dozens

12 Dec

Did you know that today is the last until 3001 (whoa, that’ll be crazzzayyy!) that we will have a repeated number date? Then it’ll be 01.01.01 – which happened in 2001…ok things are getting confusing on this Wednesday morning! Either way, it’s kind of interesting to think about!

Untitled-1Maybe I’ll have to go get a dozen eggs, a ruler, a new calendar, and bowl a perfect game (yea right, with my 96 average?!)…too bad there isn’t 12 days left before Christmas. Speaking of Christmas, check out my new widget on the right side column!

Untitled-2

In honor of all of the 12’s going on today, I am going to highlight my 12 favorite healthy living tips.

Untitled-3

  1. Drink lots of water! This is one that I have to work on daily myself. We are made of about 60% water so it makes sense drinking more water makes us feel better, more energized, less hungry, have better skin and hair, the list goes on. If you aren’t much of a water drinker, all it takes is some training. Don’t like the taste? Add some frozen fruit to give it some flavor and keep it nice and cold or add a lemon.
  2.  If you don’t buy it, you won’t eat it. David and I are pretty good about making a list for groceries each Sunday and sticking to it. Once and a while we will stray for a craving but not too much. This cuts down on our ‘snack/junk’ food in our pantry as well as on our bank account!
  3. Educate yourself. I feel like our society is left in the dark about our own nutrition and what we choose to FUEL our bodies with. People don’t tend to spend their time (ok except for me and you maybe…) wondering what makes a banana Laffy Taffy taste like a banana? If you knew, would you still eat it? Well, probably because banana Laffy Taffys are my favorite flavored Laffy Taffy BUT my point is these days food manufacturers aren’t trustworthy like farmers were and we should be educated on what we choose to fuel our bodies with.
  4. Find a type of exercise you love and do it! I ran, and loved it but since I have had to cut back, I have found I really enjoy other types as well such as walking and Pilates and now I’m excited about exercise again! David loves hockey, he plays all the time and most likely doesn’t even think of it as exercise but it most definitely is! (the gear hanging in our garage proves it…believe me…yuck!)
  5. Don’t weigh yourself more than once a week. Your weight fluctuates a lot and it’s very easy to allow that scale to determine what kind of day you are going to have. I promise you, if you eat the food we are meant to eat and move a little more, you can control the scale instead of letting the scale control you.
  6. Make a choice. Each day we have to make choices. What time to get up, what to eat for breakfast, what to do after work… choose better.

  7. Sleep. In the past year, I have realized how important rest and sleep are. I think sleep gets a bad rep but sleep is necessary; it’s being healthy. 259862_517112122088_5437709_n
  8. Find substitutions. One thing I love about cooking, and even baking, is that you can always make something just a little bit healthier. Add in some ground flaxseed, substitute some applesauce instead of sugar, a mashed banana instead of butter, greek yogurt instead of oil…the list goes on…

  9. Eat breakfast. It will jump start your metabolism as well as starts your day off right. Whenever I don’t eat much for breakfast, I am hungry all day long.
  10. Add something green to every dinner (and I’m not talking about that weird craze of green ketchup). I know I don’t get as many vegetables in a day that I really should so I have been trying to add something green to my plate for our dinner meals (especially because we always have lots of leftovers…so it carries into our lunch meals as well).
  11. IMG_8289Switch to whole grains. This could be steel cut oats, brown rice instead of white rice, wheat pasta instead of white, 100% whole grain bread (not to be confused with multi-grain – see what I mean about what I said in #3, those sneaky devils!). These are things just to remember, you don’t have to throw out your white rice or your multi-grain bread, but when it comes back to what choices you make, getting your whole grains is good for your heart, your waist line, and your Doctor bills.
  12. Love yourself and be kind to yourself. This is one that I think all of us will continue to work on daily. We only have one life, one body, and there’s only one you so nourish it, feed it right, and enjoy each day.

Posted at 12:12 on 12.12.12. Make today the best!

5 Responses to “That’s a whole lot’a dozens”

  1. Priscilla December 12, 2012 at 3:44 pm #

    Very nice post! 😀

  2. Simone @ realgoodfood December 13, 2012 at 4:10 pm #

    I love your 12 tips to be healthier. Especially the one with “educate yourself”. This is so important as many people just don’t know what the y eat and what they do to their body. They just trust the writing ánd promises on the packages which is so wrong.
    I just did a post about the “superfood” avocado, which I love. I just thought not everyone knows how good these little green things are, they just see the “fat” but not that it is all good fat.

    • Mallory December 20, 2012 at 11:38 am #

      Thanks Simone!!! I agree…I’m not a big avocado fan but when I was trying to get more healthy fats into my diet, that and Peanut Butter were my go to’s for sure! It’s all about balance no doubt!!!

  3. Nico December 21, 2012 at 12:32 am #

    Love this post!!!

Leave a Reply

