Snow Day

20 Dec

It’s finally winter in Iowa! We were predicted for 9-12″ of snow and it’s still snowing, although we only have gotten about 6 at most so far. It’s wet, heavy snow and the winds are picking up creating a blizzard warning for most of the area. My work is AWESOME and closed today so I was forced to have a snow day with my wonderful pup!

20121220_091908

David and I attempted to make a snow man last night at about 10:00 after shoveling the first round of snow off of our driveway but the snow wasn’t quite up to par for snowman building so maybe we’ll try again tonight!

Last night

Last night

This morning

This morning

Good thing my coworker sent me home with some of her Christmas movies to borrow since I was really missing my movies this season without having TV (we have Roku boxes for our Netflix is all…).

IMG_20121219_195637Last night was like I was a kid again waiting for school to get called off. David and I watched the snow fall, watched Elf, and were drowned in kisses from this little guy….

IMG_20121219_220116So this morning waking up to the news that schoolΒ work was cancelled gave me a whole world of possibilities for how I would spend my day off! I started with some shoveling before David left for work (boo he had to work still!) and then I laid back down for some Vampire Diaries and a little extra sleep, got up and made this yummy breakfast

20121220_091825and now I am just burning a new CD to listen to while I elliptical staring out at the snow blowing all around. Free days always go by SO fast! Why can’t work days go this fast?!

Since the weather is so wintery, I decided to make some homemade hot chocolate mix last night and share the recipe with all of you. I got this recipe from my sister in law’s work cookbook. It makes a ton with lots to share but you may have a hard time parting with any of it because it’s that good!! Enjoy πŸ™‚

Homemade Hot Chocolate Mix

  • 8 quart box of powdered milk
  • 7 oz powdered coffee creamer (I used French Vanilla flavored which gives it more of a rich flavor but you could use original creamer too)
  • 2 pound can of Nestle Quick (I used an off brand instant mix because it came in a perfect 2 lb can…the Nestle stuff was making me do too much math trying to decide how much to use out of the can so this was easiest for me but you can use any kind.)
  • 1 cup powdered sugar

20121219_180025

20121219_175900

20121219_175957

Mix and enjoy! It’s that easy! Put some water or milk in a cup, heat it up, mix in a few spoons of the mix to your desired richness and add some marshmallows on the top!

20121219_175905

I also put some in some jars topped with a baggie of marshmallows and some Lindt mint chocolates with a small bottle of Bailey’s Irish Cream to give to the other designers at work on Friday.

20121220_112955

 

Now time to trade these purple fuzzy slippers in for my tennis shoes and feel somewhat accomplished today!

6 Responses to “Snow Day”

  1. Linda Vasquez December 20, 2012 at 11:47 am #

    Wow! I may have to mix up some of that stuff Mal, maybe P and I will do that this weekend! I’m going home, yay!!!! Merry Christmas πŸ™‚

  2. Priscilla December 20, 2012 at 11:48 am #

    LOVE all of those movies!!!!! Hope you’re having a GREAT day πŸ˜€

  3. Lindsey December 20, 2012 at 12:20 pm #

    Sounds like a great day! Love the hot chocolate idea… I wanted to do those for people this year and never did 😦

  4. simoneatrealgoodfood December 20, 2012 at 5:31 pm #

    I love the christmas movies your are going to watch! I also like Love actually and The holiday. Going to my parents tomorrow evening to see some christmas movies πŸ™‚ Looking forward to it!

  5. Nico December 27, 2012 at 12:24 am #

    That sounds delish! is your christmas post supposed to be protected? If so, could you give me the password on FB maybe? (if that’s okay of course!)

    • Mallory December 31, 2012 at 7:33 am #

      Thanks Nico! Oops! Thanks for letting me know! I think it’s fixed now πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

