Getting my fitness back on

3 Jan

With the Holidays and all of the sharing of New Year’s Resolutions, as well as over abundance of food and treats, I have been slowly reincorporating some fitness back into my life over the past month or so.

This past weekend, I went for my first run in a long time. My mom and I ventured down to the ice arena where you can do laps around the top. We walked a few miles and I decided to run 2.5. It felt great! I paid for it the next day though, my legs definitely felt it and were thanking me for working them again. But while I ran, I thought about all of my progress this past year and instead of thinking “you can go further, fight through it” I was thinking “this feels great, now that’s enough for now, you’ve come too far.”

I’m not planning to go full in again, but after the Dr. reassured me that my weight was healthy and exercising again was OK as long as I did it in moderation and made sure I was refueling properly. After this past year and my struggle with Hypothalamic Amenorrhea and now my choice to try fertility treatments this month, I want to make sure I don’t reverse any progress I have made.

I don’t have a fitness ‘plan’ in place because I am just trying to take it day by day and not get wrapped up into many goals or personal bests. I want to listen to my body. If I need a full out rest day because I am sore from the day before (or even the day before that) I don’t want to push it and will take that rest day to let my muscles recover and grow stronger. I would like to get a few days of 30 minutes of cardio in a week whether it’s on the elliptical, walking, or running a few laps around the ice arena. I also have been pulling out some Jillian videos to challenge my muscles again as well as Cassey’s Blogilates.

20120830_061355

Last night I did Level 2 of Jillian’s Yoga Meltdown. I reviewed Level 1 and I liked Level 2 even more. It is a nice balance between low-intensity strength moves, flexibility, and balance. Afterwards I wasn’t exhausted and drained, instead I felt reenergized and overall healthy.

IMG_20130102_170957

It’s all about balance in life. Balance is key. If there is one thing I have learned from the past 2 years is the importance of balance in all areas of life. Whether it’s fitness, nutrition, a career, school, etc.; balance will pull you through to be the best you can be overall.

I don’t plan on going out and working my fitness back to where it use to be. I don’t plan on losing even a single pound. I plan on eating what I want, getting my heart rate up to retain my health, and moving forward with 2013 with a great focus on balance in all areas of my life. This year, I don’t have a New Year’s Resolution except to be a normal, healthy person inside and out.

16 Responses to “Getting my fitness back on”

  1. Lindsey January 3, 2013 at 8:02 am #

    Well said, it is all about balance! I have added workouts and runs back in too 🙂 But nothing like to 70km, 6 days a week i used to do. Eeek. I am doing it now because I love it, it is good for me and makes me feel way better. Before it was to keep a low weight and maintain that 6 pack I thought I had 😉

    • Priscilla January 3, 2013 at 9:53 am #

      Well, said!! I love that the 3 of us have been so close in this journey and have take most of our steps together!! Now that we’ve all gained the weight and our bodies are working again, it seems we are all ready to add back in some exercise…lets make sure to keep each other accountable so that we don’t push it too far 😉 Love ya girls and am soooooo happy to be on this journey with you ❤

      • Mallory January 3, 2013 at 7:28 pm #

        I 100% agree!!! That’s going to be the hardest part is knowing what my body can handle right now and backing off even if I don’t think it’s too much. Love you too and I wouldn’t be here without ya girl!!

    • Mallory January 3, 2013 at 7:28 pm #

      How many km is in a mile? lol That way I can convert it from here on out instead of thinking “wow that sounds like a lot!” 🙂

  2. simoneatrealgoodfood January 3, 2013 at 2:10 pm #

    It is great you are reincorporating fitness back into your life. As you said, all in moderation and balance. I wasn’t very active the last 3 month and am trying to bring fitness back in my life as well. I decided to do gym classes and alternate strength and cardio like 3-4 times a week. We’ll see how this goes 🙂

    • Mallory January 3, 2013 at 7:27 pm #

      Your plan sounds great!! I think it’s important to have some activity in your life especially during these winter duldrums! 🙂

  3. nativelifelovemusic January 3, 2013 at 4:44 pm #

    I am trying to do the same this year, find a balance that works for me. I really like Jillian Michaels 30 day shred and I just started it yesterday. Boy am I sore today. I would like to try the yoga meltdown along with the 30DS.

    • Mallory January 3, 2013 at 7:26 pm #

      I’ve never tried her 30 day shred, is it similar to her others? I have Ripped in 30, her yoga (which i LOVE) and 6 week 6 pack. Gotta love some Jillian! 😉

  4. Amanda January 3, 2013 at 6:14 pm #

    I’m so glad I found your blog today trying to find more information of HA. I was diagnosed with hypothalamic amenorrhea in December of 2012. I read through all of your HA posts today and found that are situations are very similar I am so glad to know I’m not the only one going through this issue. Thank you so much!

    • Mallory January 3, 2013 at 7:23 pm #

      Amanda, I am so glad you found it too! Please feel free to email me (ifgravityhappens@gmail.com) if you want a friend or someone to talk to! I have lots of resources I could direct you to as well. I love hearing others finding my blog and showing them that this issue is affecting so many other women just like you! We’ll get through this together

  5. Cait the Arty Runnerchick January 3, 2013 at 9:42 pm #

    i’m happy you were able to get ur run on but even better that u’ve realized the key is balance. also, with running, for me, it’s more about doing it because of how much i love it and how it makes me feel…not because of the pressure to just do it to lose weight. that perspective and keeping everything in balance is spot on. 🙂 great post and happy new year!

    • Mallory January 4, 2013 at 7:03 am #

      Thanks Cait! Yes, the problem started with falling in love with running…it quickly got out of hand the more endurance I built up and the more endorphins that went flyin around! I now know though that there is a difference between loving it and taking it too far 🙂 Thank you and Happy New Year to you as well!!!

  6. jessielovestorun January 4, 2013 at 7:18 am #

    I was diagnosed with HA about 3 months ago. I would love to know how you dealt with it, and what you did to help w/ your journey. If you could e-mail me, that’d be wonderful “jessiejoshua21@yahoo.com” ❤ ❤

    • Mallory January 7, 2013 at 4:58 pm #

      So glad you found my blog Jessie!!! Feel free to shoot me an email anytime @ ifgravityhappens@gmail.com 🙂 So looking forward to hearing from you!!! Sorry you have to go through this 😦

      • jessielovestorun January 7, 2013 at 10:07 pm #

        I actually already e-mailed you, and you wrote me back. I’ll be e-mailing you back soon 🙂

      • Mallory January 8, 2013 at 6:05 am #

        awesome!! 🙂 🙂

Leave a Reply

