Water Tips and Cold Remedies

4 Jan

These short weeks can sometimes feel like they go on and on and on and on! Luckily, we are now onto another weekend. Our weekend is filled with 2 hockey games and getting fitted for my bridesmaid dress for my friend’s wedding!Β Which got me thinking, I have 6 months to write a Matron of Honor speech…any tips?!

IMG_20121201_183922

Our local grocery store gives out weekly coupons and this week’s was “spend $25 (that’s extremely easy to do…) and you get a free Take-n-Bake pizza.” I promise you, this pizza was definitely worth the $25 we were already going to spend!! It was a 1-topping – sausage – and then I spiced it up with some spinach, muschrooms, green peppers, and a sprinkle of basil with some green beans on the side.

20130102_190449

I’ve been attempting to drink more water. Drinking lots of water has some huge health benefits. Your skin, hair, mood, digestion, and so much more improves when you drink a lot of water…without the summer months, I am struggling to even drink a few sips of water at work during the day. Luckily, I’m not a pop drinker so I don’t have that battle and I tend to drink at least a cup of tea a day, milk at breakfast and dinner, and water at lunch but that’s about it unless I make a conscious effort to drink more water.

20121212_113619

Anyone have any suggestions on how to drink more water without having to go to the bathroom all of the time?! I swear that’s why my goal of chugging water lasts about a week until I get so tired of rushing to the bathroom all day at work and throughout the night and I stop making an effort to drink more. Maybe my body will just become accustom to it? Day by day Mallory…

IMG_20130102_175603There is something about chevron this year that everyone (including myself very much so!) loves. Especially grey and white! My sister got me this awesome camera strap for Christmas and I just love it! Thanks Meggan!

So David is sick and like most men when they are sick, either he’s close to dieing or his cold is really beating him down! He even skipped playing hockey tonight so he could head to bed and try to get rid of it! I was shocked as that’s NEVER happened before…poor guy must really be feeling yucky!

I stopped and picked up some of this tea (not sure it’ll help but he drank some with a little bit of honey before heading to the NyQuil and bed so we’ll see).

20130103_194902David also picked up some of this Naked juice. I believe in this juice and not sure if it really does help or not but I figured when you are sick or not wanting to get sick, it’s a nice boost to your nutrition because lets face it, I can’t imagine anyone gets the proper amount of fruits and veggies in their diet daily especially when you aren’t feeling well. It’s definitely not a low-calorie drink as it has lots of natural sugars in it but it’s the next best thing to the real deal from what I can tell!

20130102_185936

20130102_185948Of course nothing is as good as eating the 2 1/3 bananas, 6 3/4 apples, 6 blackberries, and 57 blueberries but it’s winter and we don’t have all of that around and since David’s living off of chicken noodle soup and chicken broth, he gets his calories and nutrition all in one. There are also ones with both fruits and veggies in them that are pretty tasty as well!

20130102_185955The ingredients don’t seem half bad either?

What are your thoughts on remedies to get rid of a cold faster?
How do you manage to drink water throughout the day?
What’s up for this weekend?!

10 Responses to “Water Tips and Cold Remedies”

  1. jessielovestorun January 4, 2013 at 7:15 am #

    Girl, as soon as you find a remedy to help control your bladder from drinking water constantly throughout the day… please share!! )

    • Mallory January 7, 2013 at 4:59 pm #

      hahaha will do! πŸ˜‰ A catheter probably isnt the best option eh? hehe

  2. Lindsey January 4, 2013 at 7:52 am #

    I agree with Jessie! I go pee every 20 mins at work! haha. I aim to drink 1.5L of water during my work day, two water bottle full one in the am and one in the pm. It works pretty good most days.
    I hope David feels better soon! I agree, men think they are always dying when sick πŸ˜‰ Chad loves Neo-Citrin tea when he has a bad cold, but it knocks me right out.

    • Mallory January 7, 2013 at 4:57 pm #

      Ugh…i wish that wasn’t a consequence of drinking lots of water! At least I have a job that I can get up and go whenever i want, i just need to TRY and make sure to get all my water in! Today I only drank half of my water bottle…man o man! :-/ Neo-Citrin tea? I’ll have to try that next cold David gets! He’s feeling much better now thank goodness!!!

  3. Carly @ Snack Therapy January 4, 2013 at 12:12 pm #

    I am constantly guzzling water and I pee all the dang time. It’s ridiculously annoying! But I usually drink about 150 oz a day so it makes sense. I’m just thirsty all the time!

    • Mallory January 7, 2013 at 4:56 pm #

      Darn it that is annoying!!!! That’s a lot of water a day! I wish I could do that…new goal! πŸ™‚

  4. Karla January 6, 2013 at 6:29 pm #

    I am horrible at drinking water! I need to try to change this. No cold remedies I have found. Lol… Are all men like this? My hubby is too! πŸ™‚ but for some reason when I am sick he never thinks its a big deal like it is when he’s sick. Hmmm….

    • Mallory January 7, 2013 at 4:56 pm #

      Me too! Lets try and do it together πŸ™‚ Yes, all men are totally like that πŸ˜‰ hehe as my mom always says “all men are the same they just look different” πŸ˜‰

      • Karla January 8, 2013 at 6:48 pm #

        Lol… Love that quote from your mom! πŸ™‚
        Okay lets do the water goal together. Tomorrow I’ll shoot for 6 cups! Today I had 4

Leave a Reply

