Simple Joys & Dog Treats

21 Jan

I thought about you all daily last week but never got myself motivated to post! So I am very sorry for being MIA!!! But I am still here! Here are some bits of my life over the last week…

IMG_20130112_143600This weekend David hosted a bus trip to watch our hockey team out of town. It was lots of fun and I filled his Bubba keg mug up with some Sierra Mist and Dr Cherry McGillicuddy. This mug keeps things cold for days – ok maybe not days but hours and hours! David puts ice water in it in the mornings before work and that ice will still be solid that night!

20130109_130506Speaking of ice water…I found a new way to drink more water! I take a dry erase marker at work and section it out for morning and afternoon, ensuring for now that I will drink more than I use to. Another good method that my coworker uses is to take rubber bands on it and that’s how many you drank that day. Just a fun way to keep me consciously trying to drink more H20!

IMG_20130109_094419This is my new favorite tea flavor! It’s so good!!! I’ve been drinking this stuff like it’s going out of style! Way better than the apple cinnamon I once raved about!

IMG_20130111_100625We got software upgrades at work! I don’t talk about my work or freelance much on here as I like to keep that very separate for now but this was very exciting!!!! CS6 is awesomeeeee!!!!!!!!!! Ooo the simple joys of a graphic designer!

IMG_20130108_203735Trying to decide whether normal dog treats or healthy dog treats for Gizmo. He has a super sensitive stomach and the Milkbone brand seems to do fine for him but Target had a Healthy All Natural brand that we debated on getting…we decided not to this time around but does anyone have any suggestions on easy on the stomach dog treats? (By the way, David is growing his hair out for all of hockey season…his hair is currently shaggier than Gizmo’s!)

IMG_20130115_175939Last week I made Hungry Girl’s Chicken Veggie “Fried” Rice and her Crab Rangoons. It was pretty easy and SUPER yummy! I definitely recommend this and will make it again for sure! I have made her crab rangoons many times but I think I’ve got it down now! The Veggie Fried Rice was a new one but one of the best homemade chinese dishes I’ve made! I’m not sure if you are familiar with Hungry Girl but she’s pretty much awesome!

That pretty much wraps up my week last week! Now onto the next one! Monday’s aren’t so bad I suppose…they are one day closer to the weekend right?!

9 Responses to “Simple Joys & Dog Treats”

  1. myneonrunningshoes January 21, 2013 at 10:13 pm #

    Good luck figuring out the right combo for Gizmo! You can do it 🙂

    • Mallory January 24, 2013 at 8:45 pm #

      hehe thank you!!! 🙂

  2. foods for the soul January 21, 2013 at 10:24 pm #

    That’s a fantastic idea for drinking more water! I always forget to drink water during the day when it’s cold, unless it’s during a meal…

    • Mallory January 24, 2013 at 8:45 pm #

      Thank you! I agree! It’s so much easier to drink more water when it’s not -9 degrees out! 🙂 hehe

      • foods for the soul January 24, 2013 at 10:17 pm #

        Maybe I should start filling a mug for tea… That counts as water, right??

  3. Lindsey January 21, 2013 at 10:38 pm #

    Great idea with the water! This is probably a silly question but what are crab rangoons?

    • Mallory January 24, 2013 at 8:44 pm #

      Crab rangoons are wonton wrappers (like really thin dough of some sort) wrapped around crab meat and cream cheese with some spices and then fried/baked. A lot like egg rolls I guess?

  4. simoneatrealgoodfood January 22, 2013 at 1:33 pm #

    I have to adapt your idea for drinking more. I always have the problem that I just forget it. At work I’m fine as my tea is standing right beside me, but sometimes on the weekend I recognize in the evening that I just had my breakfast tea and then nothing. I’m just not thirsty and that sucks..so I have to find a way to remind myself to drink.

    • Mallory January 24, 2013 at 8:43 pm #

      I do that too! I fill up my bottle of water and then noon rolls around and I barely took 2 sips! I’ve been doing so much better this week though making a goal and conscious effort to drink more 🙂

Leave a Reply

