Mashed Cauli, Spaghetti Squash Boats, and Peppers

7 Feb

I have made 3 new recipes this week! I found all of them on Pinterest, with slight changes, they were too good NOT to share! After our Vegas trip with too many Denny’s meals and large buffets with heavenly dessert bars, these were my attempt to feel healthy again. Best thing is, none of them tasted ‘healthy’ at all!

Every Sunday, I wake up, David starts a load of laundry and I pull myself to make the dreaded grocery list and meal menu for the week. Most of the time, this is a fun task for me but lately I’ve gotten bored with the same ol’ same ol’ recipes. I try to make at least 1 new recipe every week but I fall in love with one and then that gets repeated…like my chicken tortilla soup which I don’t think David can stand anymore I’ve made it so much! (hehehe)

I grab my grocery list…(we got a magnetic pad on our refrigerator door that I absolutely love and have gotten so use to I know where every item is listed)

20130207_164657

I’ve seen these pads at Pier One but when I went to get a few for ‘stocking stuffers’ for Christmas, they didn’t have any and it was too late to order them on Amazon but you can buy them here.

Then I usually flip it over, write the days of the week on the backside and add in if we have something going on a certain night. I almost always plan an “easy” night that can be used for leftovers, breakfast for dinner, or freezer clean-out. I use to write a meal for basically every day and found out that it was wasteful because almost always plans change so that allows us to be flexible. (We also do a “poor week” once and a while after hearing from a friend who’s in-laws do it…I’ll touch on that in a different post). When I go to figure out what meals we are going to have for the week I usually ask David what he’s feeling like which most of the time I get “it doesn’t matter” which means “I’ll think of an idea while we are walking through the grocery store already buying things for what you planned already…” 😉 Usually Pinterest and my recipe basket with lots of my mom’s and sister’s recipes in it decides what we are having for dinner that week.

20130207_165216

This week I found 3 new recipes on Pinterest that sounded good.

1. Table for Two’s Stuffed Peppers -The only thing I did differently with this is I added 1 cup (uncooked but steamed in my rice cooker beforehand) brown rice.

20130204_180321
2. Hungry Girl’s Mashed Cauliflower -I used garlic powder instead of real garlic (I always do) and I used our 1% milk instead of buying Half and Half as I knew it’d be wasteful if I bought that for the small amount I needed. I also added a little bit of dried parsley. Oh and a little bit of ground flaxseed, I try and sneak that in whenever I can!

20130205_181327
3. Skinny Taste’s Spaghetti Squash Boats – I made one medium sized squash, David ate a full half and I ate just over half of the other half. I was stuffed! We didn’t make with chicken, instead I used the rest of the ground turkey from the stuffed peppers. I also made the squash in the microwave then shredded the squash, seasoned with pepper, garlic powder, oregano, sprinkled the cooked ground turkey, then sprinkled italian seasoning over that and added the sauce and cheese. It was a winner and although I love spaghetti squash, this was the first recipe with it that I could NOT tell a difference without the pasta!

20130206_183901

I definitely recommend all of them! We had the mashed cauliflower with my mom’s meatloaf recipe which is also very delicious and fairly healthy with a side of green beans. The squash boats we had spinach salads and garlic bread on the side. And the stuffed peppers we had spinach salads and David had some bread and butter to accompany. All very easy, all fairly inexpensive, and all very good for you! Enjoy!

5 Responses to “Mashed Cauli, Spaghetti Squash Boats, and Peppers”

  1. Lindsey February 7, 2013 at 5:23 pm #

    They all look awesome! I love stuffed peppers. We have poor weeks too, usually before a holiday. Its amazing how much that can go unused in our house.
    I have the same fridge sheets!

    • Mallory February 13, 2013 at 7:30 pm #

      No way really!?! Where’d you get yours at??

  2. Priscilla February 8, 2013 at 10:32 am #

    MMMMMMMMM…..they all sound sooooooo yummy!!! 😀

  3. maureenbreakingfree February 22, 2013 at 8:20 pm #

    these look delish! I’ll have to try these recipes

    • Mallory February 25, 2013 at 6:23 pm #

      Thanks Maureen!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

