The Tooth Book with a side of the best alfredo ever

21 Feb

I am waiting, hoping, and dreaming of a snow day tomorrow….it hasn’t started snowing here yet but it’s coming! I don’t think it will end up getting bad enough here for my work to close but it never hurts to dream right?!

**Side note: I volunteered at work to read to some students at an elementary school in town next week during Read Across America week. This year’s theme is brushing your teeth so the Dr. Seuss book that was chosen is The Tooth Book

IMG_20130221_110746

It’s a cute book until I got to the last page…

IMG_20130221_111138

 

Nice Dr. Seuss…nice!

________________________

Anyways, I was really feeling like alfredo this week and with Lent on Friday’s for us now I try to make something without meat on Thursday so that David has a lunch for Friday so that we don’t have to resort to packing him peanut butter and jelly sandwiches each week.

Bad thing about alfredo is that it’s not that great for you with all of the butter and in the past I’ve purchased jars of alfredo but have yet to find one that I really like the taste of. What I really wanted was Olive Garden’s alfredo…but not the thousands of calories!

So I turned to Google. I Googled (don’t you love that Googled is a verb) “healthy alfredo sauce” and I came across HealthyFoodforLiving.com’s Light Pumpkin Alfredo Sauce.

20130221_175133

 

I won’t lie, I got a little scared and kept looking but didn’t find a whole lot of anything that interested me. I felt brave and decided I’d give it a shot.

Sunday when I got groceries for the week I put a jar of alfredo in my cart JUST in case my sauce didn’t turn out but before I got to the register I put it back on the shelf trying to boost my confidence that it would turn out just fine and if not, I just won’t make it again.

First of all, it was SUPER easy. I didn’t change anything except for not having real garlic so I just used some garlic powder. I had neufchatel (1/3-less-fat) cream cheese leftover in our freezer from my Hungry Girl’s crab meat rangoons recipe and I always have pumpkin on hand so I really didn’t need to get anything for the sauce which saved us money too!

Second of all, it was DELICIOUS! I’ve never had (except for Olive Garden) such creamy, rich alfredo. It was filling and plump full of nothing but goodness. I didn’t use the nutmeg as I thought it may get too seasonal tasting and really didn’t want David to know that it had pumpkin in it. I still have not ‘fessed up so unless he’s actually reading this today, he still won’t know. (He doesn’t like pumpkin and I was really clever by making sure I had the sauce done before he got home and good thing because he seemed to really like it!)

20130221_180046

Sorry for the dark, bad lighting picture…I need to work at multitasking in the kitchen and trying to take good quality pictures while I do it!

Don’t let the pumpkin ingredient scare you, I am a pumpkin lover but I could not taste any pumpkin in this. The only thing the pumpkin does in this recipe is makes it rich and creamier with the garlic, and a little bit of salt and pepper, you just taste good old alfredo. The alfredo sauce, although heavy like alfredo sauce should be, was light in calories and fat.

20130221_183135

I put in some shrimp and asparagus over whole wheat thin spaghetti noodles with some garlic bread and a little extra steamed asparagus on the side. I will never buy another jar of alfredo sauce and will repeat this recipe for years to come. Thank you HealthyFoodforLiving!

IMG_20130220_065223

And do you see that? The other day I woke up to the sun being up! Before 7 AM finally! I am looking forward to summer so so much that even the smallest signs help! Ok, back to wanting that snow day…

4 Responses to “The Tooth Book with a side of the best alfredo ever”

  1. Priscilla February 21, 2013 at 8:31 pm #

    OMG!! That sounds delicious 😀 Definitely gonna give that one a try!!!

    • Mallory February 21, 2013 at 8:47 pm #

      It was SO good! 🙂 (I emailed it to you as well…haha) Let me know if you try it and like it! 🙂

  2. Amanda February 21, 2013 at 9:56 pm #

    Here in north Missouri I had a snow day today and another one tomorrow! We had about 6 inches and 4 o’clock and the snow is still falling steady! I can’t wait to try the yummy looking sauce.

    • Mallory February 25, 2013 at 6:27 pm #

      Holy cow!!!! We didn’t get that much, just about 4 inches but I did hear other states like Missouri got dumped on! Hopefully you didn’t get too snowed in!! Spring can come anytime now!?!!!!

Leave a Reply

