My New Pink Rug

27 Feb

Ok, it’s not a rug…it’s a yoga mat! I finally went out and purchased one. It was really cheap, only $7 on clearance at Walmart – that store kind of makes me cringe a little…but regardless, super cheap deal! After a crummy day I decided I needed to lift up my mood, get centered, and let go some of the tension I was feeling. I have given yoga a try in the past and after having trained myself to enjoy sweat for so long, I had the toughest time finding enjoyment out of the lower impact, slower paced workout.

mat

I am not flexible by any means. This was one thing I’ve never been good at and mostly because I’m not the best stretcher. With doing more pilates and Blogilates, I have realized how it’s not really a matter of flexibility, it’s a matter of stretching daily and building muscle. I’ve felt more and more loosened up and can stretch a lot further already!

20120830_061832

So I thought I’d give yoga another shot a few days ago. Bad news was that I was having a hard time staying in one spot. I don’t know if it was because I wasn’t mentally focusing enough, or I was sliding around so much on our carpet, or if it was because I didn’t have a fun, happy, pink colored mat to look down at; I agree, I think I needed to try a mat!

I grabbed David some apples for the week on Sunday at the store and yesterday got a text saying how awful they were. Homemade applesauce anyone? So I thought perfect reason to stop by Walmart and check out their workout apparel and yoga accessories; and grab some ‘crisp’ apples.

535704_10151464949810797_1783877197_n

Photo credit: David’s Instgram

I not only got a mat but I got a few shirts ($5 for a decently cute top!), a pair of running shorts, and an active razorback tank. Working out in clothes that are meant to be worked out in is so much more fun than working out in an old t-shirt and shorts. I swear it made me feel stronger and more energized!!

When I got home, I rolled out my new pink mat and looked on the YouTube channel we now have on our Wii to find a video to do. I did 3 yoga videos and it felt so good! I will master those moves that I could barely attempt last night…my mat won’t let me down!

I think it will also come in handy when I do pilates, Blogilates, and any core work as it really does help keep me in place and when in planks or pushups or downward dog; my hands and feet stick to the mat so that I can focus on my form and not how my body is sliding in all directions.

Yoga gets a bad rap because it’s not seen as hard as a lot of other workouts and even I didn’t give it credit because if sweat wasn’t dripping from my forehead and I wasn’t laying on the ground exhausted, it wasn’t worth my time but moving from one static strength yoga move to another with grace and flexibility, while really breathing deeply and focused, really challenged me last night and my shoulders, back, arms, and legs are already feeling sore today. There are lots of different types of yoga; some focusing on breathing and relaxation and others focusing on core and total body strength. All very good workouts and worth giving a chance – just make sure you have enough grip underneath you because it really does help!

yogasolution

I love the Yoga Solution workouts from Livestrong Women. Tara Stiles is so good about telling you what she’s doing and reminding you to “breath a lot” and do your best.

Have you ever tried yoga? Do you have a yoga mat?

Are apples hard for you to buy too? David likes a different kind of apple than I do and I swear I never remember what ones he liked the last time…

10 Responses to “My New Pink Rug”

  1. Mary February 27, 2013 at 10:44 am #

    I just started yoga too and I originally felt the same way. I wasn’t sure how I would like it as I am used to more intense workouts and some something of lower intensity, but it turns out I enjoy the relaxation and flexibility that goes along with yoga.

    • Mallory February 27, 2013 at 12:18 pm #

      Definitely! I am amazed at how much I really did enjoy it and how much more energized I felt afterwards. Im all about trying new things and knew theres a reason people like yoga so i would eventually too 🙂

  2. Lindsey February 27, 2013 at 11:00 am #

    I love yoga and actually surprise myself with my balance. My key is find a spot I keep my focus on, moving eyes mean less balance for me!
    Oh, Chad spends about 5-10 mins picking his apples at the store every week. I grab all the other produce while he does that. lol

    • Mallory February 27, 2013 at 12:17 pm #

      hahaha that story made me laugh 🙂 Thanks for the tip for balance!!! 🙂 now i just gotta get my hamstrings loosened up enough to straighten my leg out more on some of the moves!

  3. Amanda February 27, 2013 at 2:33 pm #

    I do yoga as a recovering HA’er. I have a few different videos that I rotate through, like you it is hard for me to go from hard core workout to yoga. This morning I did level two ( after working at level one for the last two months)of Jillian’s Yoga Melt Down, oh my goodness! Some of those poses are extreamly difficult for me the “crow” about made me fall flat on my face however, I will master it someday! Maybe I need to get a mat, I have been using carpet to stand on.

    • Mallory March 4, 2013 at 12:55 pm #

      hahaha that made me laugh about jillian’s yoga video and the crow. Some of the moves really take a lot of concentration, balance, flexibility and most definitely – strength!! Good for you for trying to like yoga. I am right with you. I don’t look forward to yoga or pilates or anything really like I looked forward to running but for now, there’s more important things and yoga is going to help me get there! 🙂 Same goes for you! 🙂 🙂

  4. maureenbreakingfree February 27, 2013 at 7:51 pm #

    It’s hard for me to get into yoga since I still have some lingering feelings of “not getting a good enough sweat.” But, I’ve been trying to get more into it, for stretching my muscles and stuff! I’ve liked some pilates classes I’ve taken and I recently took a hot yoga class which I really enjoyed and felt was very “de-toxing”!

    • Mallory March 4, 2013 at 12:54 pm #

      I totally agree! I would love to try a hot yoga class! Letting go of that feeling of having to workout hard in order for it to count as a workout has been one of the major things I’ve learned throughout my recovery. As much as I miss running, I know that when I get into it again I will be a lot smarter about pushing my body too far and refueling! 🙂 As long as we find something we love, I think that’s all that really matters in the end!!!

  5. Brittany Trentham (@batrentham) February 27, 2013 at 7:51 pm #

    What a steal!! I didn’t realize you had HA. We need to chat! I want to get into doing more yoga. I would love good suggestions from you!

    • Mallory March 4, 2013 at 12:52 pm #

      I didnt know you struggled with it either!??! I just read your about page and saw that! If you ever need to chat or anything feel free to shoot me an email 🙂 ifgravityhappens@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

