March Goals

4 Mar

Although it’s snowing again outside my window today, I am so happy March is here!

Untitled-1

Last March, we had a really out of the ordinary warm up at the end of March that brought high 70’s and sunshine, hoping we get that again this year!

20120704_152057

What I am currently imagining….

Regardless, the end of winter is near and my winter blues are slowly going away…I am so excited for warmer weather and all that comes with it that I can hardly take it!

I don’t think I did February goals because we had just gotten back from Vegas but I wanted to take a moment to just jot down a few goals I have for the month of March. I am a big believer in goals of all types and sizes and think it’s good to hold yourself accountable and continue to improve on yourself and the quality of your life.

March Goals:

1)      Read. I get on a kick with reading a book for a few weeks and then I stop. Not sure why but it happens. For the month of March I am going to focus on finishing The Happiness Project so that I can start implementing some of her tips before summer rolls around. Organization being one thing…

IMG_20130219_192131

2)      Organization. This does NOT come naturally to me. I have to really try hard and keep at it to stay organized. At the workplace, I am completely organized but oddly enough at home, my side of things or my drawers/closet/life is definitely not. David is a very left brained, box-type personality where I am a right brained, squiggly line and it’s a constant thing I have to put effort towards. This weekend I reorganized the little what we call pantry that we have and it felt so rejuvenating. Unfortunately, this will last maybe a week (like my Tupperware cupboard) and then all will break lose again! I have a few closets, dressers, and cabinets that I want to get organized and decluttered before spring is officially here and more importantly, keep organized.

3)      Yoga and Pilates. I absolutely love doing strength exercises right now. It’s just enough to clear my mind, give me energy, and keep me feeling strong. These next few months are going to be  a real challenge for me to keep my mind off of running (nothing beats a run outside in the spring!) so I will really have to work on overcoming that want – running will always be there for me and hopefully believing this will push me through.

4)      Vegetables. I try to be good about eating enough vegetables every day but sometimes I slack. This past Saturday was one of those days and I can’t tell you how much more tired and unmotivated I was on Sunday. I really do notice a difference in my energy and mood when I don’t eat as healthy as I’d like to. To make this more attainable, I plan to shoot for at least a vegetable with every meal. Breakfast is the hardest for this but that could be as easy as adding pumpkin to my oatmeal or spinach in a smoothie.

20121008_064246

5)      Focus on this list.

4 Responses to “March Goals”

  1. maureenbreakingfree March 4, 2013 at 1:39 pm #

    I like your vegetable goal! I’ve been trying to think of clever ways to get veggies into my “sweeter” breakfasts. I’m going to have to break out my pumpkin more! very nice goals 🙂

    • Mallory March 7, 2013 at 7:33 am #

      Yes! Pumpkin is a great way to add in a little boost in your breakfast! I also like to put mashed avocado on my egg sandwiches! Thank you 🙂

  2. Lindsey Knudson March 4, 2013 at 7:45 pm #

    Great goals Mal! I have the book with me in AZ and hopefully I start and finish it 🙂

    • Mallory March 7, 2013 at 7:33 am #

      Oooo i haven’t made it very far yet!!!! Let me know if you get about 30 pages in, that’s where i am.

Leave a Reply

