Date Night

6 Mar

David and I were talking about how long it’s been since the last time we went on a date night just the 2 of us. After not being able to remember when that was, we decided we were well overdue for one.

A while back I saw an idea on Pinterest to do a date jar and David remembered one idea I told him about and it was to do a “progressive date”. Start somewhere for drinks, go somewhere else for appetizers, go somewhere next for dinner, and then for dessert. David planned the places we were going to go and left it a surprise for me.

We were planning on doing our date night on Tuesday night this week but because of the snow storm we got, decided we better reschedule and ended up doing it on a whim on Monday night instead.

He was funny while we were in the car and kept asking me if I thought I knew where we were going. A tidbit on me, I have NO sense of direction and have a hard time getting to places that I don’t go to every day, and I hate driving so when I don’t drive, I space off and don’t pay attention to the routes we take to get places. We were downtown and I was completely confused because he was taking the weirdest, strangest way trying to throw me off.

20130304_184051

Houlihan’s – do any of you have those in your areas? It’s sooo good and one of our favorites (their fish tacos are delicious!). They are known for their appetizers and win “best place for appetizers” just about every year.

20130304_181651

We started off with some drinks. I got some wine and David got a beer.

20130304_182158

We ordered their stuffed mushrooms, so rich and good! We ate a few and boxed the rest up to take with us as we knew we had a long night of eating ahead of us.

20130304_182234

After Houlihan’s I was given a clue “it’s somewhere italian” and another clue “it’s somewhere we never ever ever think to go.”

20130304_192823

A local, family owned “best place for italian cuisine” in town. A place called Mario’s. It is a very little restaurant with table cloths on the tables, candle light votives, and of course delicious, over abundance of food!

We both have only been there one other time and it was with another couple when I was in high school!

David knew exactly what he wanted and it was Panzarrati, similar to a calzone but huge!! I mean this thing was a full, main dinner plate sized and about 4 inches thick. I debated and debated about what I wanted and went between vegetable lasagna and eggplant parmesan, I decided I’d get the eggplant parmesan which was also huge. All meals came with salad and bread.

Their raspberry vinaigrette was delicious!

Their raspberry vinaigrette was delicious!

Layered deep fried, breaded eggplant with marinara and mozzarella cheese with a side of spaghetti noodles. It was very good but all the fried food was starting to hurt my stomach so I ate about 1/4 of this and boxed the rest up. Next time we go there which will be sooner than 8 years from now; I am going for the vegetable lasagna!

20130304_191535

After asking the waitress if she could help roll us out of there, we continued on our adventure and planned on going for frozen yogurt. I knew this part of the date as I had requested we do that because I had a free 6 oz and it was expiring soon.

20130304_200746

I was trying everything I could to just fix up a little bowl and stay within my 6 oz. Afterall, we had ate more than we could handle already and were still going for ice cream. Hey, a friend of mine from college always said “ice cream is meant to fill in the cracks” and that’s what we did.

20130304_200739

The chocolate peanut butter fro yo came out so fast I couldn’t stop it in time and I was way in over my head. My dish ended up being 10 oz! David’s was around 9 and the owner who was there gave us both the 6 oz discount so we only had to pay $2! It was such a great surprise and I made sure I ate every drop of ice cream and toppings to make sure I didn’t offend his generosity. πŸ˜‰ On mine I had part birthday cake fro yo and part (mostly) chocolate peanut butter. I then added butterfingers, cookie dough and some chocolate syrup.

It was a really nice time together and definitely needed!

What do you like to do on a date night?

8 Responses to “Date Night”

  1. Lindsey Knudson March 6, 2013 at 7:42 am #

    Sounds like a awesome date night! We try to plan one every other month and take turns. We have cooked supper at nice supper at home with wine, gone skating, to the spa, to plays, even just looking at show homes, for hikes, I think April is my turn so I better get my wheels turning!

    • Mallory March 7, 2013 at 7:34 am #

      THanks Lindsey!!! Aww that sounds so nice that you guys do that once every other month!!! We should try that too!!!! We just get so busy with everything else around us that we rarely make time to do something for each other. great idea!! Thanks!!

  2. olivetorun March 6, 2013 at 7:46 am #

    The progressive date idea is a GREAT idea! I’ll have to add it for the husband and I. Thanks!

    • Mallory March 7, 2013 at 7:32 am #

      Thank you!! Yes, it was a nice night out! We did a week night because weekends get so crazy for us but next time maybe a Saturday would be better so we could have a little more time to just relax and spread it out…we were stuffed!!

  3. maureenbreakingfree March 6, 2013 at 10:18 am #

    That is my FAVORITE fro-yo combination. I basically get that exact type every time πŸ˜‰ Can’t beat chocolate peanut butter and cake batter πŸ˜‰ And what an adorable night you two had!

    • Mallory March 7, 2013 at 7:31 am #

      No way!! You def can’t beat chocolate peanut butter and cake! They had an orange cream that looked pretty good as well but no fruit on the line so I decided I’d go with chocolatey rich goodness πŸ˜‰

  4. Priscilla March 13, 2013 at 6:04 pm #

    Finally getting a chance to get caught up on your blog πŸ™‚ We NEED to do a progressive date the next time I come for a visit!! Sounds like so much fun and those restaurants sound sooooo yummy πŸ˜€

    • Mallory March 15, 2013 at 7:10 am #

      That would be SO much fun and a good chance to visit more places at once!!!

Leave a Reply

