How to: Spaghetti Squash

7 Mar

Most recipes I find on the internet for spaghetti squash say to put it in the oven but it takes an hour or so to get it perfectly shreddable. Ain’t nobody got time for that!

Anyone ever see that YouTube video? They play a remix of it at the hockey games now when someone gets a penalty – ain’t nobody got time to put a remix together of a news story and make it one of the top viewed videos on YouTube…crazy people. 

Instead of putting the squash in the oven, I steam it in the microwave for about 11 minutes depending on the size of your squash. It works perfectly and makes for an easy dinner!

IMG_20130122_180832

If you haven’t tried spaghetti squash, I strongly urge you to! David and I love it. We will sometimes portion out half of our plate with squash and half with whole wheat spaghetti noodles and then put the sauce on top. I have made it instead of hashbrowns in cheesy hashbrown casserole. I’ve made it with just some olive oil and parmesan cheese. I’ve made it as a spaghetti stuffed boat or even a mexican stuffed boat – which we had this week, recipe at the end of this post!

20130206_183901

The texture of spaghetti squash when it’s perfectly done shreds into strands very similar to spaghetti pasta. It doesn’t have much of a taste but is less ‘carby’ tasting than pasta. It’s low in calorie, full of vitamin C, and a fair amount of fiber (Livestrong.com). More benefits of spaghetti squash.

Start by picking out your squash. Spaghetti squash does get cheaper as it’s in season late summer/fall but you should be able to find it year around. They price by the poundage. Pick your size, I usually try and get a medium sized squash because we will each attempt to eat half, but it’s great leftover too!

20130306_181024

When you go to make your squash, I recommend pealing the sticker off and sticking the whole squash in the microwave for 4-6 minutes or enough to make it slightly easier to cut in half lengthwise. Like most squashes (<– is that the right word or is there a plural word for squash? It reads funny for me, like saying geeses), it’s really hard to cut in to. The hardest part of this whole task is cutting it so anything to make it easier for you.

20130306_183757

After you get it cut in half, take a break because you’ll be needing one after all the work it takes to cut that sucker! Then remove the seeds and the gooey hairs, as you would a pumpkin.

20130306_184115

Once each half is ready to go, put one half or both depending on the size and lay cut-side down. Fill the pan with about 1 inch of water. Cover your dish and place in microwave.

20130306_184201

Cook the squash halves for 11 minutes or so. Depending on the size, you might want to check it after about 8 and then you will probably have to check at 11 and possibly even put back in for a few more minutes. Usually mine seems to be just about perfect after 11 minutes though.

This squash was too big to fit in my pan so I cooked each half separately for 11 minutes each.

20130306_185851

You will know when the squash is done when you can take a fork and dig in, shredding all the way to the hard shell fairly easily. It’s overdone if it turns mushy as you do this. It should have a nice spaghetti-like hold to it, but not be too firm that it’s slightly chewier or crunchy – then it’s not done enough, turn back over in your pan, cover, and cook for a few more minutes. So no mushy, no overly chewy.

Once it’s done, enjoy! There are so many wonderful spaghetti squash recipes out there and this cooking method makes it so much easier and faster!

20130306_190412

Last night I tried this recipe for Southwestern Stuffed Spaghetti Squash.

It turned out very good BUT after sauteeing the vegetables and adding the spices and thinking 1 tbs of each spice it calls for seemed like a lot yet going ahead and adding that amount of spice to it, I realized it was just too seasoned for us and dumped it. So after starting over, I decided I don’t really like ground cumin anyways so I’m leaving that out (I also hate cilantro so I left that out as well). I spiced mine with a little garlic powder, s & p, salsa, a little bit of chili powder, and a little bit of chipotle seasoning. I also added some ground burger that we had on hand, some tomatoes, and instead of a jalapeno pepper, I sliced up a few pepperoncini peppers.

There are so many awesome recipes on Pinterest for what to do with your spaghetti squash! It’s very versatile and delicious as well as very nutritious. I don’t think it should be a replacement for pasta – still love my carb fixes! but it is nice to stretch portions without the extra calories or to just have something different!

Have you ever tried spaghetti squash?

How do you cook yours?

8 Responses to “How to: Spaghetti Squash”

  1. olivetorun March 7, 2013 at 9:29 am #

    Looks delicious. This is definitely on the top of the “recipes to try” list in our house. 🙂

    • Mallory March 7, 2013 at 6:04 pm #

      Ooo yes! Definitely try it! 🙂 Thank you!!!

  2. Lisa @ Lisa the Vegetarian March 7, 2013 at 10:16 am #

    I just made spaghetti squash for the first time about a week or two ago! I had quite a time trying to get it to cook in the microwave, and ended up throwing it in the oven instead, but I loved how it came out. I’ll definitely be doing it again.

    • Mallory March 7, 2013 at 6:03 pm #

      Lisa, how did you make yours in the microwave?

  3. maureenbreakingfree March 7, 2013 at 11:59 am #

    I LOVE spaghetti squash but it always takes forever to bake. I never though about putting in the microwave! That’s genius! I’ll definitely be trying that now!

    • Mallory March 7, 2013 at 6:04 pm #

      Thanks Maureen!!! 🙂 It is one of my favorites! The first time I made it I did it in the oven and I was too impatient, after some googling and some trial and error, this method is the only way I make it now! Let me know if you try it out 🙂

  4. Priscilla March 13, 2013 at 6:09 pm #

    I really need to add this to my lists of things to buy at the grocery store…sounds like a great thing to have on hand 🙂 Especially with so many different things you can do with it!! Thanks for sharing 😀

    • Mallory March 15, 2013 at 7:09 am #

      Om geee def try it!!!! soo good 🙂

Leave a Reply

