Lace Up Your Sneakers

3 Apr

Today is National Walking Day! The American Heart Association dedicates this day to encourage everyone to get out and walk at least 30 minutes today to make a healthy effort to share the benefits of walking.

Gizmo and I after our walk today...don't mind the half dead/half green grass! Spring seems to be finally here, slowly but surely!

Gizmo and I after our walk today…don’t mind the half dead/half green grass! Spring seems to be finally here, slowly but surely!

Speaking as a runner, walking never seemed to be ‘enough’ for me. Being forced into only walking has really taught me that walking has some really awesome benefits and a lot of those benefits are the same as if I were running. One huge benefit for me is that it’s not as hard on my body, joints, and has helped my body to heal while still being active.

Some of the many benefits to walking:

  1. Reduces stress
  2. Increase energy
  3. Boosts your immune system
  4. Helps kick cravings
  5. Reduces risk for heart disease, high cholesterol, diabetes, and increases overall health
  6. Can be very useful to help shed pounds
  7. Increases metabolism

After I get done walking, I feel refreshed and energized; much like when I was running. My mind is clearer and my mood is lifted. In the past year I’ve learned it’s not about how intense you are exercising, it’s about being active to stay healthy and find a balance. I know my body can’t handle intense exercise right now and walking is the healthiest option for me.

There’s nothing like being active outdoors when the weather is nice and the sun is shining. Whether it’s walking, running, volleyball, baseball, playing catch, it’s all really great for your health and you will love the benefits mentally and physically from getting out and being active! Listen to your body, know your limits, and do what is right for YOUR body at that time in your life.

I can’t express how badly I want to be out there running, luckily walking is the closest thing to running right now and I am happy with that! It’s like the choice of ice cream or frozen yogurt… both make me happy and both are unique in their own ways! (Just got home from a fro-yo trip, we each had 6 oz free that expired today).

I got a ton of different kinds...a mocha, triple chocolate, wedding cake, & creamsicle (my favorite) with strawberries, crushed graham crackers & crushed chocolate cookies. I think that was it!

I got a ton of different kinds…a mocha, triple chocolate, wedding cake, & creamsicle (my favorite) with strawberries, crushed graham crackers & crushed chocolate cookies. I think that was it!

I like to walk with someone else because it prevents me from giving in and jogging, it also helps pass the time, have some great conversations, and I face a computer all day so the human interaction is awesome! When I am by myself I listen to music and usually have Gizmo with me. Most days, my mom and I walk. She has lost so much weight with the help of walking, she also feels more energized and it helps her stay motivated and on track.

I hope you are able to get out and enjoy some time with a friend or relative or neighbor or spouse or pet and go for a walk; breathe in some fresh air and enjoy the benefits of walking!

20120823_205929

Off topic:  As much as David said no sand volleyball for him this year, we are now BOTH signed up to play on 2 teams (Tuesdays and Thursdays) again this summer! I can’t wait!! I loved it last year and looked forward to it so much! I was just going to sub on a team but she needed another couple so we committed to both nights, both of us. I’m really anxious for summer to be here!

10 Responses to “Lace Up Your Sneakers”

  1. Lindsey Knudson April 3, 2013 at 8:19 pm #

    LOVE walking, especially now that is Spring and the weather is nice and its light out till 8:30pm! That fro-yo looks so yummy!

    • Mallory April 10, 2013 at 6:09 pm #

      Yes walking and fro-yo totally beats this 40* rainy day we are having today! ooo summer how you seem so far away still!

  2. Priscilla April 3, 2013 at 8:35 pm #

    Awe, love that pic of you and gizmo!!! ❤

    • Mallory April 10, 2013 at 6:08 pm #

      Aww thanks P! 🙂 It’d look better with you in it though! 😉

  3. maureenbreakingfree April 4, 2013 at 7:40 am #

    good for you for keeping at it, and looking on the positive side of things 🙂

  4. natalie@thesweetslife April 4, 2013 at 8:31 am #

    even though running will forever have my heart, i do love a good walk!!! I’m obsessed with listening to podcasts while walking–have discovered so many good ones!

    • Mallory April 10, 2013 at 6:08 pm #

      Natalie, Podcasts are a GREAT idea! What are some of your favorites???

  5. jessielovestorun April 6, 2013 at 8:12 am #

    wish we lived closer so we could walk together w/ our sweet dogs! =(

    • Mallory April 10, 2013 at 6:01 pm #

      omg i know 😦 you want to move to Iowa or I can move to Kuwait? 😉 hehe

Leave a Reply

