100th Post

10 Apr

This is my 100th post on the blog! I was pretty excited to see that today and wanted to touch on where I’m at in my blogging. I have taken a short break from blogging and here are a few reasons why:

David and I this past weekend at his charity hockey game

David and I this past weekend at his charity hockey game

1) I am constantly trying to think of something to write about. What are some topics you would like to hear about? What are your favorite type of posts (weekend recaps, photo bombs, heartfelt, infertility, healthy living, surveys?)

2) Food: I am the worst at taking pictures of things I eat and I don’t like doing What I Ate Wednesdays anymore or even reading them because I feel like they are often skewed. The few times I would do them, I felt like I was trying to eat even just a tad bit healthier or trying to mimic other healthy living bloggers meals/snacks to fit in the ‘norm’ and didn’t feel like it was something I wanted to regularly share because everyone is different, everyone’s journeys are different, and it’s extremely hard to remember that as a reader. I do love sharing recipes though and I haven’t done that in a while so maybe you’ll be getting some more kitchen mishaps from me! I also love getting new ideas for meals and snacks and I realize that is the whole point of the WIAW posts so maybe just trying to share a few ideas here and there instead of a full day of eats would be the best fit for me and my blog.

3) Fitness: As you may know, fitness is not a top priority for me right now so I don’t like to talk about it on here as much right now. It’s not a big part of my days at this time and although I like to try new workouts, I really just stick to my norm for now because I don’t want to risk messing my body up. I do want to try and refocus on yoga again. I’m having a tough time truly loving yoga but I believe in the benefits and really want to try embracing that. Stress reduction is something I constantly battle.

4) Infertility: I don’t want to have it turn into a blog solely about my battle with infertility although it is very close to my heart, something that I deal with daily, and want to spread awareness but I also have so much more to me and my life (Remember: National Infertility Awareness Week starts April 21!) What topics do you want to hear about that week? Any questions for me regarding my journey that I may have left out so far?

5) have to remember that sometimes the posts I like reading on other blogs most are just random happenings of their day. Not every post has to be about a particular issue or topic.

I feel like my blog is heading in a direction that I am really happy about and I hope that it continues to grow and improve over the next 100!

Blogging this year has been so therapeutic for me. I go back and read some posts I wrote last year and I am reminded of some pretty great times and some painful times as well. I can see how much I’ve changed and grown and I appreciate having so many great memories at the same time! I have met some amazing people through my blog who have shown me comfort and encouragement and hopefully have made even a small step towards positive change in other’s lives.

If you ever have anything you want me to post about or have any questions for me regarding any of these topics (or anything in life really…) drop a line below!!

6 Responses to “100th Post”

  1. jessielovestorun April 10, 2013 at 9:56 pm #

    I have no suggestions except continue to write about what YOU want, not what you think others may want to read. This is your blog, your domain.. so take advantage and have fun =) No matter what, I’ll always be a reader ❤

    • Mallory April 12, 2013 at 7:02 am #

      Thanks Jessie! You are completely 100% right! It’s my blog, my world and it’s so nice to know that people who read regularly will be reading no matter what! Thanks again 🙂

  2. maureenbreakingfree April 11, 2013 at 8:20 am #

    I struggle with some of these things too! But, some of my most viewed posts, are on ones that just came to me on the spot! I’ve found that a mix of all of what you suggested is good! You don’t want to get bored and you don’t want your readers to get bored! Surveys are fun because you get to learn a little bit more about the blogger. It’s funny about what you said about WIAW. I haven’t participated in that yet because I feel the same way you do, BUT I think I might next week, and actually show what and when I eat, if it’s “healthy” or not 😉 Most of all, write what makes you happy. Sometimes I feel like I’m posting “word vomit” but my blog is my therapy and writing helps me destress so I’m gonna keep doing it 😉 Love your blog so don’t worry about losing this reader! Looking forward to your posts during the last week of April (email me that guest post whenever you want !).

    • Mallory April 12, 2013 at 7:01 am #

      I do LOVE surveys too! 🙂 I also love reading just about people’s weekends and all of that good random stuff! I think my confusion here is i go back and forth between being just a random blog to an infertility blog to a blog about healthy living where really I don’t HAVE to be categorized as anything other than just me 🙂 thank you! (and you never ever post word vomit!!!)

  3. Priscilla April 11, 2013 at 1:01 pm #

    Happy 100th post!! I honestly love reading anything and everything you write 😀 I appreciate the fact that you are taking our wants into consideration and love your reasoning behind not wanting to do the WIAW’s…shows just how caring and REAL you are which is why I love you so much!! I love that you are using this as an outlet and I think it really helps others in your position as much as it helps you to get your feelings off your chest…keep posting away girlie!! ~xoxo P

    • Mallory April 12, 2013 at 6:59 am #

      Thanks P! 🙂 I love that you’ll read no matter what! It is really nice to have something to pour my heart out into and then be able to move on from it. Sometimes I question if I’ll look back someday and ever regret anything I posted but then I remember how much it’s helped me and how far I’ve come and hopefully appreciate each and every post 🙂

Leave a Reply

