Happenings

14 May

Happy May everyone! Ok I totally went off the radar for a few weeks but wanted to give a quick update on what I’ve been up to and why the blogging break…

I’ve been up to a lot of this…

20130426_133906

And this…

IMG_20130420_221908

And hanging with lovely people…

20130420_214911

20130507_193232

20130510_141934

Blogging has been kind of getting put on the back burner while things work themselves out in my life. I’ve been working on a lot of freelance projects officially kicking off wedding season and have been busy enjoying planning my friend’s bridal shower and bachelorette party as well as playoff hockey that’s been filling up our weekends. With warmer (some days) weather, we’ve been enjoying the outdoors, taking lots of walks, I’ve done a jog or two and we got our bikes out and ready for summertime!

20130504_212630

All of these things have been my focus in the last few weeks as I anxiously awaited our last round of Clomid. Unfortunately, things didn’t work out for us.

So our plan after this round if I wasn’t pregnant was to try Femara. I was feeling very hopeful for this plan and it made the outcome a little easier to handle. Until my Dr. phoned with a new plan…doesn’t he know that’s not allowed in my life!?

After 4 rounds of Clomid, he felt a break from the meds would be good to settle things down, give my body a break, and get rid of any cysts that may have formed. Also, the last ultrasound my ovaries were enlarged and so that would get them back to normal. A break meant going on the birth control pill and then doing a 5th round of Clomid; but I was not ok with this…

I turned to a few lovely ladies who made me realize some other options I have and with the help from David and my family, I was motivated to be my own advocate and take control. If they wanted me to take a break from the meds, I can do that naturally. So in hopes that since I was cycling naturally prior to this year and the possibility for things to be even more kicked into gear, we are taking a break from treatments and giving my body another chance. It’s also going to be the best thing for my mind and body.

We’ve also racked up quite a bit of medical bills so far this year so a break financially will also be nice to give us a chance to build things back up.

How I am feeling about this: I am actually feeling pretty good, now. Unfortunately, it never gets easier. The longing for a baby is still there and stronger than ever, especially seeing so many in my life experiencing what we want so badly but my path is different and God is waiting for our perfect healthy baby to be brought into our ready and warm arms when the time is right for us.

For now, I am feeling pretty hopeful and proud of how far my body’s come in the last year and a half. How much I’ve grown, how much I’ve learned, and I have a lot of trust my body will do its thing and we can hopefully do this without medical intervention.  Of course the fear of the unknown will always haunt me but I’m going with my gut on this one…

IMG_20130424_074357

So, that’s what I’ve been up to while away from the blogging world. I hope to be back a few times a week to talk about my random happenings, share recipes I’ve tried, talk a little about healthy living and share a little about how my fitness is going.

20130501_073800

I’ve missed you all and have thought about you daily! I appreciate all of the emails I’ve received from those who read and have questions or are looking for support. I hope I can be of some help or at least just offer some friendship but I also benefit from every single one so thank you for reaching out to me!

20130505_153511

I am anxiously awaiting consistently warmer weather so we can start all of our fun summer activities like sand volleyball, camping, beaches, wineries, weddings, campfires, festivals, biking, more walks, and we are even going to try kayaking!

20130428_142237

On another note, I made these Cinna-berry wonton cups for work and I passed along the recipe to just about everyone who tried one! They were easy AND super delicious! Perfect for summer! I will be making these for my friend’s bridal shower next weekend as well.

How are you all doing?

What fun summer activities are you excited for?

6 Responses to “Happenings”

  1. maureenbreakingfree May 14, 2013 at 1:17 pm #

    Welcome back!! I’m so proud of you for keeping a positive outlook in spite of your disappointments. You are such an inspiration 🙂

    • Mallory May 22, 2013 at 6:04 am #

      Thanks Maureen! It’s been a slow comeback but I’ll be back regular soon 🙂

  2. Priscilla May 14, 2013 at 4:45 pm #

    So happy to hear the positivety in your words 😀 you can do this and I’ll be here for ya whenever you need someone to lean on!! Love you ❤

  3. Jenny May 24, 2013 at 9:21 am #

    I love your blog as my story very much mirrors yours. Your story is very motivating, and I know you will have wonderful things happen before you know it. Thanks for sharing your story.

    • o2befitmom July 18, 2013 at 3:49 am #

      I have been talking with Jessie (loves to run) and she told me about you. I can tell you that i went through it all and now have a ONE YEAR old daughter. I started off on medicine but hated the effects and cut it out to work with my doctor on naturally ovulating…and what do you know..3 months of work with my diet and exercise and I was pregnant. HARDEST time in my life but SOO worth it.
      If you ever need to talk let me know 🙂

      http://www.tuffmother.com

Leave a Reply

