Kicking Off Summer

22 May

Happy Wednesday! Things are going good around here…I’m looking forward to this holiday weekend and couldn’t be more excited for the events that we have planned!

Friday kicks off summer with a music festival on our Main Street along with lots of people and cold beer (except it’s going to be back in the 60’s-70’s) but it will be lots of fun! I am the matron of honor in my friend’s wedding coming fast in July and am helping host her bridal shower and bachelorette party on Saturday evening.Ā I.Can’t.Wait!!Ā And on Sunday we are going camping for the first time this summer! It will be nice to welcome summer with open arms and kick it off with all of my favorite things to do! Friends, good times, and enjoying the outdoors.

In the mean time, hockey is now over. Our team won the championship cup for the second time in 3 years. It was awesome to celebrate the end of the season the right way! It will be nice to have a few month break to enjoy summer and then back into hockey season!

Watching the Championship game - it was over 8 hours away so we had to watch it at a viewing party.

Watching the Championship game – it was over 8 hours away so we had to watch it at a viewing party.

We also got out our bean bag boards…

IMG_20130514_184621

We got these for our wedding and they come with score posts that double as beer holders which we didn’t get out because it looked like a storm was coming but I did get my wine holder out that my parent’s got us for our anniversary. I love this thing!

20130514_184705

Last night we had our first night of sand volleyball as well although unfortunately too many teams signed up and with only 2 outdoor courts, teams have to rotate to the inside courts and last night was our turn but regardless, it was a lot of fun and we played pretty good! I forgot how much I love that sport and am so glad to be back at it!

Rum chata chocolate milk shakes before heading off to volleyball

Rum chata chocolate milk shakes before heading off to volleyball

I have spent very little time in the kitchen and lots of time out on our deck watching David grill. It’s been nice but I have absolutely no new recipes to share with you! Our eats have been lots of hamburgers, turkey burgers, brats, and chicken – too hot to turn the oven on and too nice to be inside in the kitchen!

My coconut oil is no longer solid! Hello summer and windows open!

My coconut oil is no longer solid! Hello summer and windows open!

I’ll leave you with a view I can’t get over this May – the blooming trees were gorgeous last week! I couldn’t get enough of them and am so glad I took this picture on my walk when I did because the next day a storm came through and all of the flowers were on the ground!

20130516_065339

 

7 Responses to “Kicking Off Summer”

  1. Andrea May 22, 2013 at 6:58 am #

    Chocolate Frozen Yogurt= YUMM!!
    I love Sand Volleyball! I can’t wait for summer to really kick-off and be outside late in the evening and have some pick-up games of volleyball, frisbee, football… such fun things! Anything outside and ACTIVE!
    Great post šŸ™‚ Makes me excited for summer!! Have a great day!

  2. Lindsey Knudson May 22, 2013 at 7:37 am #

    Love the wine holder, that yummy sounding drink and the trees – soo pretty! Happy your summer is off to a great start! Its weird, here I never think of it as summer until after the first of July for some reason.

  3. natalie@thesweetslife May 22, 2013 at 8:31 am #

    RUMCHATA SHAKES??!? good idea! šŸ™‚

  4. David B May 22, 2013 at 9:53 am #

    Hmm….You forgot to mention hockey is only over for 2 weeks! Try out camp starts June 5th! šŸ™‚ Happy Wednesday Indeed!

  5. Priscilla May 22, 2013 at 3:47 pm #

    Yay for summer indeed!!! I love hearing about all the fun things you guys have in store for the summer…One of these days I’m gonna make it out there to enjoy some of them with you šŸ˜€ Hope you have a wonderful weekend and give Stacy a BIG hug for me and tell her congrats, July Weddings are AWESOME!!! ā¤

  6. maureenbreakingfree May 23, 2013 at 4:14 pm #

    that festival sounds awesome! & your weekend sounds like it will be a blast! take lots of pictures šŸ™‚

  7. eatgreatbegreat May 30, 2013 at 9:21 am #

    My coconut oil is is liquid form too!! Guess it’s just way too hot! The pic of the tree in bloom is beautiful!

Leave a Reply

