Relaxing Weekend & New Blog Love

29 Jul

I really hate to say this but I am almost 80% ready for fall…we have had fall-like weather for a few days now and sweatshirts, blankets, and all things apple and pumpkin sound too fabulous to not dream about. Soon enough…

IMG_20130728_110418_187

This past weekend was pretty low-key. David and I went on a date night after a rough, busy, long week on Friday evening. David got some Goose Island Summerfest beer, I had a glass of Happy Camper wine, and we shared a margherita pizza outside.

IMG_20130729_180135

Afterwards, we went down the street where there was a live band along the river. It was really nice and we were home by 10! Saturday I spent the day with my nephews. We had so much fun watching all 3 Mighty Ducks movies while playing games, putting puzzles together, and having a nerf gun war.

On Saturday I was lucky enough to have a phone date with Jessie from jessieloves2run. We have emailed back and forth for a while now and share similar struggles, heartaches, frustrations, and it’s nice to just talk. Since Jessie lives all the way in Kuwait, we set up a phone date because sometimes emailing gets to be a drawn out process! I will admit; I am very naive when it comes to different cultures so I find the way people live very interesting and talking with Jessie always reminds me of how different cultures are around the world. Make sure to check out Jessie’s blog! She is full of positivity and inspiration while being very real about things.

Recently, I came across a blog that I wanted to share with all of you, especially those of you who are struggling with infertility or know someone close to you who is. Amanda at www.aroyaldaughter.com speaks so openly and honestly. When reading her posts I have never had so many “that’s how I feel, too” moments. She is raw, she doesn’t sugar coat, and she has a way of writing that makes you feel comforted and normal.

All of her posts about infertility are linked here. I can’t wait to keep digging and reading more posts about their journey so far and to come.

7 Responses to “Relaxing Weekend & New Blog Love”

  1. Linda Vasquez July 29, 2013 at 7:07 pm #

    Hey Mal, it’s nice to hear you sound much more relaxed 🙂 take care, hope to see you soon!

    • Mallory July 29, 2013 at 9:08 pm #

      Hey Linda!! Nice to hear from you!!! Thanks for checking in! 🙂 big hugs & hopefully soon I’ll be visiting to hold ur baby grandson! 🙂

  2. Lindsey Knudson July 29, 2013 at 7:40 pm #

    Missed you!! Though I am not admitting it I agree with your fall comment. It is my favorite season, love the clothes, everything pumpkin, yummy smelling candles…and I could go on and on 🙂 So happy to hear you and Jessie had a phone date 🙂 You both are such awesome people and I know things will work out for you two. Thinking of you!

    • Mallory July 29, 2013 at 9:07 pm #

      Aw thanks Lindsey!! I sure hope so! I agree I am a big lover of all 4 seasons!! 🙂

  3. sgreensmith July 30, 2013 at 1:49 pm #

    So great that you are feeling more relaxed 🙂 And I am 100% with you on fall! I do not tolerate heat/sun well (very pale skinned) and the winter months are very much so my favourite. Maybe it is the pre christmas build up but I love all the excitement around that time of year too!

    Mmmm pizza sounds good!

    I’ll definitely have to check out both those blogs 🙂

  4. Amanda {A Royal Daughter} August 2, 2013 at 9:56 pm #

    Hi Mallory! I just wanted to say thank you so much for linking to my blog, for sharing my (our) story! I hope you have a great weekend!

    • Mallory September 10, 2013 at 7:54 pm #

      Thank you Amanda! Your blog has helped me understand the reasons for this journey, comforted me at times when things didn’t make any sense, and made me feel blessed to be where I am today. So THANK YOU for sharing your story and helping me! 🙂

Leave a Reply

