A Lot of Firsts: Finding the Joy Around Me

17 Oct

Wow! That was another long stretch!

I’ve been enjoying the fall weather and time is flying by! Since I posted last, David and I have been exploring our lives finding joy in what we can and focusing on being happy with the today. Hockey season is back in full swing again, keeping us plenty busy!

We got Gizmo a bike basket for him to ride in - he's loving it!

We got Gizmo a bike basket for him to ride in – he’s loving it!

A month or so ago, there was an opportunity to try stand up paddle boarding for free from a local SUP business. I was so excited when the time ended up working for us to give it a shot and David was open to going with me. It was awesome! We went on a pond but I could just imagine how amazing it’d be if you had clear water under that board….hopefully when we go on our trip we’ll be able to get an opportunity to try it again!

Me + SUP

Me + SUP

Speaking of trying new things, I’ve attended 2 studio yoga classes now. I have been really getting into yoga at home because it’s just so good for my mind, heart, and body right now. I feel at peace afterwards as well as continuing to be challenged physically each time. There was another FREE opportunity to do a yoga+art class which was yoga in an old warehouse where they have an art studio. The instructor had us move our mats around the gallery and while in the poses, she would talk about the artwork and then we’d do a few yoga flows and move to another area. I’ve been to a lot of art galleries in the past and this was by far my favorite way to experience the artwork!

IMG_20130915_134147_208

 

IMG_20130915_134616_461

After that yoga class, I was hooked on the studio setting – it made me try harder and push myself further but also helped me to appreciate the people in the class with me and their love for yoga; very inspiring. One Saturday morning I was planning on checking out our Farmer’s Market and decided to hit up a yoga class that was near the Market. It was in a small older building, by small I mean the studio was literally 3 by 3 yoga mats long and wide. There were about 5 of us in the class. By the end of the session, my legs were literally shaking like jello. I was pretty sore for a few days afterwards.

IMG_20130928_100317

In September, for our Anniversary we rented out a house for the weekend on Lake Michigan, it was kind of rainy and really foggy so most of the time we were there we could barely see the Lake but it was nice to relax and feel rested and refreshed. I’m looking forward to going back there again but in, hopefully, nicer weather!

Spiced Pumpkin Tea is my fall favorite!

Spiced Pumpkin Tea is my fall favorite!

So that’s what I’ve been up to…enjoying my yoga practice, hockey, and loving all of the nice fall walks and bike rides.

IMG_20131010_170936_214

4 Responses to “A Lot of Firsts: Finding the Joy Around Me”

  1. Linda Vasquez October 17, 2013 at 10:29 pm #

    It’s so nice to hear the “peacefulness” in your writing, I think that’s just what you need right now! Take care xoxo!!

    • Mallory October 22, 2013 at 9:58 am #

      Thanks Linda!!!! I do feel like I have a lot of peacefulness inside me regarding this journey…finally….of course I still want it to happen and I have bad days most definitely but overall, i know there’s a reason I am in this position and I know someday that reason will be understood 🙂 for now(& always) I am thankful for those I met along the way 😉

  2. Priscilla October 18, 2013 at 3:20 pm #

    Love reading posts like this!! You make me smile Mal ❤

    • Mallory October 22, 2013 at 9:56 am #

      YOU make me smile! 🙂

Leave a Reply

